Building Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2009, 02:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Gilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 196
Default Building Problems

This is the first time I've built a computer, and as expected, it didn't work first try. : (

I've installed everything, and when I try and boot up I get no picture on the monitor. I've waited to see if BIOS was setting up or something, but it doesn't appear to be. Everything seems to be running, all fans, and the optical drive works, and the HDD seems to be spinning. The LEDs on the front don't work either (I thought I saw something once though).

The HDD and the optical drive used SATA cables I've never seen before. The skinnier red ones instead of the larger ribbons. I think I've used the correct ports on the mobo. The optical uses a SATA cable, so I put it into my second SATA port.

I would guess it's a video card problem, but I have no idea. There are three red lights on, towards the back of the card, on the side facing up. The card is properly installed as far as I know. It's got both power cables plugged in, and the fan is running. It seems to be snuggly in the slot. The mobo doesn't have on board, so I can't test it that way unfortunately.

I had made another thread once on my heatsink. It wouldn't snap in place correctly, but I got the push pins in there pretty good, and it seemed to be flush with the CPU. I hope it has nothing to do with the CPU.

Here are the specks.

CPU: Intel E8400
Mobo: P5Q Pro
RAM: Gskill 4 (2x2) DDR2 - 1000
GPU: Radeon 4870 512MB
PSU: PC Power and Cooling Silencer 650Watts
HDD: Seagate 500 GB SATA 2
Dive: Some LG drive. I can look it up if necessary.
Case: Antec 300 Mid ATX
Monitor: Old. I can try and find out, but I doubt it's the monitor. I used the right adapter for the GPU since it has no old-school port. I'll be getting a new one shortly.

Hope someone can help. : (
__________________

Gilles is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 03:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Building Problems

Try it with just one stick of RAM. And try the RAM in different slots. Also, try the different DVI ports on the video card itself.

You may also want to look into what those lights on the video card stand for. Check the manual that came with the card.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 03:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Gilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 196
Default Re: Building Problems

No manual really for the card. : (
I tried a single stick of RAM, although I haven't moved it around.
I tried both ports on the video card.
Gilles is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 03:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Building Problems

What brand of HD 4870? I'll try to look up and see what those red lights mean, but I'm pretty sure they don't mean anything is wrong.

Try each stick individually and in different slots to see if anything boots up.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 03:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Gilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 196
Default Re: Building Problems

Alright. I've got to get to bed, but I'll be trying to fix it this weekend.
Thanks for your help, again. :P

It's a Sapphire card.
Gilles is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 03:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Building Problems

Not a problem. Enjoy your rest!

Are you sure everything was correctly connected to your motherboard? Both power connectors were connected to your motherboard including the 24pin and the 4pin(sometimes 8pin) power?
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 09:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Gilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 196
Default Re: Building Problems

The computer wouldn't even start if those were unplugged, right? They're both firmly in there.
It doesn't seem to be the RAM, I've tried multiple configurations. I tried reinstalling the video card, and I bought a new monitor.
__________________

Gilles is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A whole boatload of problems, please help :( Neodr31 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-18-2008 10:32 AM
Major BSOD problems. IBM/PS1 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 08-01-2008 01:37 PM
problems after rma mobo Rich_S Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 07-26-2008 12:57 PM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.