Building a pc for the first time, need some help to make sure it all works. - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2010, 04:16 PM   #41 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 80
Default Re: Building a pc for the first time, need some help to make sure it all works.

Tomorrow i get paid and I will do the bill me later thing so I have 6 months to pay for it. I'll pay 300 tomorrow then I'll have it paid off with in a month. So with the i5 you showed me it requires 2 or 4 increments of ram?

Also with that build later on would it help me more to put in another video card for Cross fire or more ram?
__________________

Scriptkitty is offline  
Old 08-19-2010, 04:56 PM   #42 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Building a pc for the first time, need some help to make sure it all works.

For RAM there's 3 possible configurations: Single channel (multiples of 1), Dual channel (multiples of 2), or Triple channel (multiples of 3).

For modern PC's you'll either see dual or triple, older systems used single channel. For dual channel you need identical RAM sticks in multiples of 2 (depending on how many slots per channel, usually 2 or 4 sticks for 4 or 8GB total RAM). For triple channel you need identical RAM sticks in multiples of 3 (depending on how many slots per channel, usually 3 or 6 sticks for 6 or 12GB total RAM). This is of course using 2GB sticks, but that is the most common.

AMD and LGA1156 builds use DUAL CHANNEL RAM while LGA1366 builds use TRIPLE CHANNEL RAM. If you get the i5 (which is only available in LGA1156) then you'll need a dual channel kit (2x2GB or 4x2GB). If you get an i7 LGA1156 you need dual channel and if you get an i7 LGA1366 you need triple channel.

This is the other huge difference between LGA1366 and 1156, the 1366 supports triple channel RAM while the 1156 doesn't. While the only CORE difference between the i7 1156 and 1366 is HyperThreading (which I use, it does improve performance according to most reviews), the socket limits the memory controller on 1156 as well as cuts PCI Express bandwidth by a large margin (as it does away with a "northbridge" such as the 1366 platform's X58 chip which handles PCI Express as well as the southbridge connection independently). The 1156 should work fine with PCIe graphics cards but I would think a 1366 build would be better for CrossFire/SLI or running a fast GPU and other PCIe devices like RAID controllers at the same time.
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 08-19-2010, 05:36 PM   #43 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Building a pc for the first time, need some help to make sure it all works.

to Sean and Rich,
stock settings is what we should be comparing the processors at... not 4.2ghz
you guys think a first time builder is going to push their processor to 4.2ghz...?
better think again

I leave mine i5 750 at stock... because it is already fast enough for me at stock
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 08-19-2010, 05:55 PM   #44 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 80
Default Re: Building a pc for the first time, need some help to make sure it all works.

Alright, thanks a bunch calc for all of that. So should I just go for the 1366? Or does the i5 perform well enough?


So here is the final build. I have a case, hard drive and dvd drive. So to cut cost im just going to use my full tower. Is all of this compatible?


Video Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150490

PSU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139006

Ram
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231225

Processor and Mobo
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboD...t=Combo.466275
Scriptkitty is offline  
Old 08-19-2010, 09:23 PM   #45 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 101
Default Re: Building a pc for the first time, need some help to make sure it all works.

Just tossing out an AMD comparison

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-890FXA-UD5 AM3 AMD 890FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard Mobo
Newegg.com - XFX HD-585X-ZAFC Radeon HD 5850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card w/ Eyefinity Video Card
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply Power Supply
Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9D-4GBRL (x2 8gigs) RAM
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ965FBGMBOX CPU
Newegg.com - ZALMAN CNPS 9700 NT 110mm 2 Ball Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler CPU Cooler

You can cut some more cost by going with the locked CPU and 4 gigs of RAM that would drop about 130.00 off the price. With the money saved you can almost upgrade to a 5870 or thats the cost of a copy of windows. That intel build is good just showing you the AMD side that I threw together. Total $983.00 after shipping
Gordylll is offline  
Old 08-19-2010, 09:43 PM   #46 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 80
Default Re: Building a pc for the first time, need some help to make sure it all works.

Well i can get a copy of windows for 40 at my college this fall. That seems like a really nice pc I'm just worried about going with AMD i keep hearing that intel is now far ahead.
Scriptkitty is offline  
Old 08-19-2010, 10:46 PM   #47 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 101
Default Re: Building a pc for the first time, need some help to make sure it all works.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scriptkitty View Post
Well i can get a copy of windows for 40 at my college this fall. That seems like a really nice pc I'm just worried about going with AMD i keep hearing that intel is now far ahead.
Just depends on what you are looking for. With Intel yes their chip architecure and speed is ahead of AMD no questions about it. Its also not for the budget consiencious. Do you want to overclock? If so go with Intel they have a broader range and people are able to squeeze more from those chips, if your not going to do anything but basic overclocking getting .2-.4 then go with AMD.
Basically ask yourself: Am I overclocking? Do I need to have the best top of the line right now? Do I have an unlimited budget? If you answer yes then get an intel if you answer no go with AMD.
Gordylll is offline  
Old 08-19-2010, 11:05 PM   #48 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 80
Default Re: Building a pc for the first time, need some help to make sure it all works.

I think i want to go with intel, I'll spend around 1100 and just use my case, Os, hard drive and dvd drive to save money.
Scriptkitty is offline  
Old 08-19-2010, 11:12 PM   #49 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 101
Default Re: Building a pc for the first time, need some help to make sure it all works.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scriptkitty View Post
I think i want to go with intel, I'll spend around 1100 and just use my case, Os, hard drive and dvd drive to save money.
Cool let us know how it turns out!!
Gordylll is offline  
Old 08-19-2010, 11:18 PM   #50 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 80
Default Re: Building a pc for the first time, need some help to make sure it all works.

If i post everything Im going to get would you or anyone mind letting me know if it will all go together?
__________________

Scriptkitty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you all make sure everything works together in this build xzxremixxzx New Systems | Building and Buying 11 01-06-2009 08:26 PM
Norco card adapter works only 1/2 the time Denise_M Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-06-2008 12:37 PM
My internet service works 50% of the time TheVillageIdiot Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 06-05-2006 09:03 PM
Wireless Network Works Half the Time, Verizon FIOS truebe Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 04-24-2005 05:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.