building PC, $1000 budget, me = noob - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2006, 06:26 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 57
Default

well it is a gaming comp so im assuming it would be overclocked. and besides i wrote that at 4:20 am and ive been up for a while so my judgement is a little off. so anywhere you guys see it can be improved feel free.
__________________

__________________
light a candle for the sinners, set the world on fire.....
devilstar187 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 06:37 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

Amd x2 3800+:$297
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562

OCZ 2x 512mb plat. Memory:$166
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146890

Evga 7800GT:$285 ($265 after rebate)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130256

ASUS A8N-SLI Premium Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI:$163
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131540

Antec TRUEPOWERII TPII-550:89.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931

DVD-RW:39
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827152058


Windows xp home sp2:$88 OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16837102059


1127 Not includeing a case and no shipping oh well would be a sweet setup u can probably find a cheaper PSU, MOBO, and use a 6800GT
__________________

__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 06:56 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 57
Default

the one im building for myself is going to run me around $3000(little more actually i havent calculated it all yet) but will decimate all.

nzxt nemesis case-$80 at tigerdirect.com maybe cheaper somewhere else but not sure

wd 320 gb hd-$130 from tigerdirect.com i think the same one at newegg was like $20 more but i may be thinking of another site

4x ocz platinum series 1gb ddr ram strips-$487 from newegg

soundblaster sc-$120 from tigerdirect(havent checked elsewhere yet)

internal dvdrom-$34 from td

external dvd rw-$70 from td

cpu- amd athlon 64 x2 4800+ - $690 from td(havent checked on newegg yet)

mobo-dfi lanparty UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert NVIDIA Socket 939 ATX Motherboard -$210 from td(maybe cheaper on newegg but havent checked)

vc- 2x diablotek geforce 6600 512mb-$250 from td(not sure if it is a good vc tho, any suggestions?)

cooling-zalman reserator kit-$240 from td maybe cheaper elsewhere

speakers- logitech z5500-$280 from td(i have checked around and this is the cheapest i have found it unless newegg has changed their price in the last couple of weeks)

keyboard- logitech g15- $80(same price everywhere)

external hd- fantomdrives 80gb-$80 from td

os-xp home edition oem version- $80 from newegg

and about $80 in lights, fans, light control, thermal gel, and biometric scanner
__________________
light a candle for the sinners, set the world on fire.....
devilstar187 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 12:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default

I have a keyboard, mouse, and speakers. I also want a flat screen monitor and I don't need 100 GB HD i promise. I've had a 20GB HD for 5 years and haven't filled it. I would prefer 10,000 RPM HD 20 GB or so so I can put the files I need opened quickly on it and the rest on the old ****ty 20 GB HD.

devilstar187, if you take that into consideration how could I upgrade the other components in your post to get me around $1000?

Wow so many replies. sweet.
bayvet is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 01:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 57
Default

well you aint gona get my last post for a grand. thats the machine im building for myself and its gona be around 3500. ill have to look up the hd you are talking about. im not sure how much it woud cost. but considering most games these days require 4gb just to install, you really need atleast 60gb for gaming. a 60gb at 10k rpm would bevery nice for this system. the only thing you would have to overclock would be the processor because it starts at 1.8gb but the one i suggested overclocks up to 2.95gb i think. but ill look into it, i have to build a good $300 comp for my gf so she can use the net.
__________________
light a candle for the sinners, set the world on fire.....
devilstar187 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 01:55 PM   #16 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 184
Default

don't get 4gb or RAM and get a 7800GT will out peform 2 6600 and it about the same price
royalk4 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 02:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 57
Default

well i hadnt thought about that. but i have a $5k budget on this so no matter what im going to make it perform. when i say perform i mean its gona blow away everything in its path. as you can see i didnt add a monitor because i plan to use the video card's svid port to hook it to my mammoth ****in hdtv.
__________________
light a candle for the sinners, set the world on fire.....
devilstar187 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 04:44 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 57
Default

ok revision on my personal build. me and my brother talked about it some more and decided to increase the budget to $6k! yay for me. so scrap the x2 4800+ cpu, instead of that im goin with the fx60 from newegg for 1025. ima keep the 4gb ram just for ****s n giggles and im replacin the two geforce 6600 for 2 of these: eVGA 256-P2-N529-AX Geforce 7800GTX 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail for $489 each. and this mouse: Razer Plasma Diamondback RZD-1600P Black 7 Buttons 1x Wheel USB Mouse - Retail for $50. so the final price is :$4024 before taxes/shipping. so including taxes/shipping im still under the 6k wire and have a pretty sweet machine.
__________________
light a candle for the sinners, set the world on fire.....
devilstar187 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 06:40 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 109
Default

If you really must, you can stick 4gb of ram in. But I've already tried that, since I got my ram for free, and 2 gb is actually faster. Windows will only recognize 3gb, and with 3 you will still be slower than 2. I wonder when microsft will come out with and OS that will see 4 gb - 8gb.
Shocker is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 07:34 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 57
Default

i think i saw something about that on in the specs for windows vista. but yea i guess you are rite about the speed. and it will cut down the cost of this monster too, cuz that is alot of money. but then again i could just switch the 4 1gb strips out for 4 higher grade 512mb strips. i would really rather not use windows xp either but linux sux for games.
__________________

__________________
light a candle for the sinners, set the world on fire.....
devilstar187 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.