Building a new PC - will this work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2007, 12:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to thejeremy
Exclamation Building a new PC - will this work?

Hey all,

I just bought a bunch of parts from Newegg.com and I was wondering if anyone could look these parts over real quick to make sure everything is compatible. The reason I ask is because I got the parts yesterday, assembled everything, and the machine powers down after about 3 seconds of being powered on. I eventually removed everything except the PSU and processor from the motherboard to see what would happen and it still powered off so I'm sending the CPU and motherboard back hoping that one was defective. To make sure I didn't screw anything up, here's what I bought:

Case: Linkworld 3210-04-C2628 Black/ Silver Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Mobo: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Windsor 2.6GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor

RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory

Hard drive: Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive

Video Card: EVGA 256-P2-N624-AR GeForce 7900GS 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 KO Video Card


Everything looked good to me when I checked it all out. If anyone can reassure me here I'd appreciate it. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Windsor, 2.6 GHz
RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 2GB 240-Pin DDR2
VIDCARD: EVGA PCI-Express x16 GeForce 7900GS 256MB
MOBO: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7200 RPM SATA

my blog: http://jspot.gotdns.com
thejeremy is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 01:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 268
Default Re: Building a new PC - will this work?

sounds like you shorted out your mobo. did you remember to screw in the risers and use plastic spacers?
__________________

fastrandstrongr is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to thejeremy
Default Re: Building a new PC - will this work?

No I didn't use the plastic spacers...didn't think I needed them because I've installed a motherboard before and not used them, and that one worked just fine. This is my first build from scratch, so I guess that's my own fault. If that was the case, I'll be more careful when I receive the replacement
__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Windsor, 2.6 GHz
RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 2GB 240-Pin DDR2
VIDCARD: EVGA PCI-Express x16 GeForce 7900GS 256MB
MOBO: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7200 RPM SATA

my blog: http://jspot.gotdns.com
thejeremy is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 01:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dio1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 205
Red face Re: Building a new PC - will this work?

Make sure you ground yourself everytime, or go to radio shack and bu a static guard, that way, you don't have to worry about messing up the mobo. Also check you PSU, may be too low or too high.
__________________
Capitol-College '2014
M.S. in Information Assurance
North Carolina A&T State University '2011
B.S. in Computer Science
Dio1080 is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 01:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to thejeremy
Default Re: Building a new PC - will this work?

I wondered if it could be the PSU but I'm sure it's not. I just swapped the PSU out of my old computer into the new one since it's only about a year old. I'm using that PSU in this computer right now and it's fine. It's set to the correct voltage and I'm sure it's throwin out enough juice (it's a 430W Thermaltake unit). During the whole installation fiasco I had unplugged components one at a time to make sure that wasn't it and it was still powering off so I'm pretty sure the PSU is fine.
__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Windsor, 2.6 GHz
RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 2GB 240-Pin DDR2
VIDCARD: EVGA PCI-Express x16 GeForce 7900GS 256MB
MOBO: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7200 RPM SATA

my blog: http://jspot.gotdns.com
thejeremy is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 04:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: Building a new PC - will this work?

When you take a motherboard out of a computer assuming its bad connect it outside of the computer case on cardboard to see if it works then.

Just advice for next time.
Norcent is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 05:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to thejeremy
Default Re: Building a new PC - will this work?

Quote:
When you take a motherboard out of a computer assuming its bad connect it outside of the computer case on cardboard to see if it works then.
I tried this as well after nothing worked while installed inside the case. I had the motherboard on some plastic, not cardboard, with only the processor, fan+heatsink, and power supply hooked up to it. Even with no RAM it should still boot just fine, the fans should start to spin and keep on spinning. Unfortunately this didn't happen
__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Windsor, 2.6 GHz
RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 2GB 240-Pin DDR2
VIDCARD: EVGA PCI-Express x16 GeForce 7900GS 256MB
MOBO: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7200 RPM SATA

my blog: http://jspot.gotdns.com
thejeremy is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 02:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to thejeremy
Default Re: Building a new PC - will this work?

So once again...the parts I posted should all work together and not have any compatibility issues right? Like the processor and memory should work in that mobo, etc...
__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Windsor, 2.6 GHz
RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 2GB 240-Pin DDR2
VIDCARD: EVGA PCI-Express x16 GeForce 7900GS 256MB
MOBO: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7200 RPM SATA

my blog: http://jspot.gotdns.com
thejeremy is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 02:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Building a new PC - will this work?

i think it should work... i don't see any issues yet
amyb15 is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 04:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default Re: Building a new PC - will this work?

yes they should all work together but idk i think you may need a need psu if the replacement motherboard doesn't work. try to get a seasonic with 500watts if you don't plan on upgrading don't get one of this 50 dollar psu's they crap out and kill everything in you're pc "sometimes".

heres a link to the psu its on special to 99.99$ after rebate.
Newegg.com - SeaSonic M12 SS-500HM ATX12V / EPS12V 500W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CE, CB, TUV, FCC - Retail

or if youre strapped on cash this can work just as fine:
Newegg.com - Antec SmartPower 2.0 SP-500 ATX12V 500W Power Supply 115/230 V TUV, UL, CUL, CE, CB, FCC - Retail

(remember these are all suggestions so if one of those psu's craps out its not my fault )
__________________

__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeon® X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to get a D-link wireless router to work Inziladun Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 06-04-2007 04:33 PM
My Old 98-95 computer wont work..read on....... bacus23 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 04:39 PM
would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800?????? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-27-2007 10:21 PM
Sandisk memory card will not work in my laptop , but i have the slot for it???? chaznad Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 03-26-2007 08:10 PM
USB Mice Don't Work - Everything Else USB Does. Blizzard596 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 06:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.