Building a new PC - STRICT BUDGET - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2009, 07:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default Building a new PC - STRICT BUDGET

I'm building a new computer for a friend's family who is on a limited budget of about $115 and I'm wondering if you guys had any suggestions. To lay it out, I already have a most of the parts needed. I have the Hard Drive(s) (3 80GB IDE ones), (8) 256MB DDR RAM sticks, a decent PCI *something* graphics card (for dual screen), a 500 watt Power Supply, and a DVD burner/Drive (probably could use better RAM Though). I also have a 10-Bay ATX Case (The same as the one pictured HERE) and an old Dell Dimension 2400 Case as well (this one pictured HERE). If at all possible, I would rather not have to buy a new case, unless it's pretty cheap (and within the budget). Thanks!
__________________

matt5313201 is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 08:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Building a new PC - STRICT BUDGET

Your DDR RAM will be useless as it is no longer used.

I will see what I can scrape together for that budget. $115 is next to nothing with computer parts.

AMD Sempron 140 Sargas 2.7GHz Socket AM3 45W Single-Core Processor Model SDX140HBGQBOX - Retail
&
BIOSTAR MCP6P M2+ 6.X AM3/AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6150 / nForce 430 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

$76 + shipping on mobo

Newegg.com - WINTEC AMPX 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model 3AXT6400C5-2048K - Desktop Memory
$40 + shipping

Total = $116

That's only a single core Sempron, but it has two gigs of RAM. The GeForce 6150 is fine for casual gaming and web surfing. You will have to use the power supply in the Dell case so just use the whole case; it will be a 20-pin PSU, but will work fine with your mobo even though it is a 24-pin board.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 08:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Building a new PC - STRICT BUDGET

Lol. I can believe it. I didn't think the RAM would be worth much, but I thought I would mention it anyways. Quick question though. How am I able to tell if a motherboard is fully compatible with a case (i.e. the little blinking lights on the front that we all love :-)

EDIT:

The PC doesn't need to be too heavy duty, as long as it's capable of browsing the internet and word processing, just to clarify.
matt5313201 is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 08:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Building a new PC - STRICT BUDGET

If you have a dell dimension 2400, the case will only be able to handle microatx boards.
It will not take regular sized atx motherboards, last you will need to have a power supply of 400 watts.
Your current power supple which is 250 watts will not the power those items, no lie!
I realized that when inserting my foxconn mobo into her dell 2400, would not power on due to it being under powered.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 08:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Building a new PC - STRICT BUDGET

Quote:
If you have a dell dimension 2400, the case will only be able to handle microatx boards.
I have an ATX case too (mentioned on first post).
Quote:
Your current power supple which is 250 watts will not the power those items, no lie!
I realized that when inserting my foxconn mobo into her dell 2400, would not power on due to it being under powered.
Sorry, keep forgetting to add things :-/. I have a 500 watt power supply too.
matt5313201 is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 09:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Building a new PC - STRICT BUDGET

If you have a PSU then use the other cse. I didn't know you had one or I would have said so earlier.

Actually, Mike, 200W would run that fine. The Sempron is a 45W CPU, and the 6150 is really light on the power. The Dimension 2400 originally came with a P4 and they sucked down the juice and pumped out heat, and the Sempron would use a lot less that the P4.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 09:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Building a new PC - STRICT BUDGET

I looked your post again that dell demision only has for 4 pci slots on the back.
Most ATX mobo have 5 or 6 slots, microatx has a maximum of 4.
But the first picture you have of that custom case should do you just fine.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 09:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Building a new PC - STRICT BUDGET

Alright, I'm not exactly sure what you guys are saying :-D. Should I use the ATX case with the stuff Trotter mentioned, or use the dimension with the PSU and (fill in the blank). :-)
matt5313201 is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 09:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Building a new PC - STRICT BUDGET

http://ep.yimg.com/ca/I/outletpc_2087_20861477

USE TROTTERS IDEA!
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 09:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Building a new PC - STRICT BUDGET

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFuryXP View Post
Lol. Ok, Gosh, didn't mean to get you so ticked
__________________

matt5313201 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building Gaming PC Around $1400 Budget RyanWhitell New Systems | Building and Buying 6 08-20-2009 09:36 PM
First time building PC with $1200 budget iCory4Ever New Systems | Building and Buying 3 08-10-2009 04:59 PM
First time building. Light gaming comp at $500 budget wootwoot New Systems | Building and Buying 11 12-06-2008 06:35 PM
$3500 budget for gaming and video editing (needs everything) dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 10-13-2007 01:12 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.