building a new pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2005, 08:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default building a new pc

hey guys, this is my first post and i am about to build a computer with my dad. i am 13 and my dad is asking me to pick all the parts. would this <1000 dollar pc be fine?

AMD Athlon 64 3200+

GIGABYTE GA-K8N Pro-SLI Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard

Nvidia Geforce 6800 GS

200 GB Seagate ATA/100 HD

OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Platinum System Memory
or
OCZ Performance Series 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory

Im not sure about the case and PSU but i already have a SB Live 7.1 and a 200 GB HD. Should i go with 2 GB of ram or 1 GB? Thanks for the help!
__________________

slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 08:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

there are many cases and psu's you can get, but this is what im getting for mine-
case:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811170012
psu:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104154

your set up is fine, I would go with 2 gigs if your playing battlefield 2, one gig if your not going to be playing it that much.
__________________

Powerslave is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 08:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

thanks a lot, im probably not going to play too many games. do u think my setup would be good for overclockiing if i got 1 gb of ram?
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 09:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

It depends on what type of RAM you get. Certain makers, like OCZ, make their RAM with overclocking in mind, and therfore, it OCs well.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.