Building a new computer.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2006, 01:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default Building a new computer..

Alright, Im building a new computer. Ive been buying many of my supplies from tigerdirect, I found to be a great computer online store. Well Im scared of going ahead and buying a motherboard, because I dont know to much about them. But I found a mother board on tigerdirect.com in my price range (about 100$). But if anyone would like to help me..here are the links to the products I want to buy..If you could tell me this products will be good. My Computer will be used for just a normal desktop, and I want it to be pretty fast..but not to expensive..Here is the link to the mother Board I am considering buying http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...696707&CatId=0 . This next link is the link for the CPU I am probably going to buy (Im not the much of a gamer, so I really dont think an AMD will do to much..and they are way to expensive..) http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...769&CatId=1973 . Another question. Ive been looking at graphics cards. Most likely Ill be going with the geforce series..6600..which company makes the best 6600 card for the amount of money..thanks to how ever helps me!
__________________

j0shua50 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 01:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

If you want to go Intel, go Intel. Be aware of how hot they get and plan on buying some good aftermarket cooling.

Do not buy from TigerDirect with a rebate in mind. They are extremely lax about getting them out (if they send one at all).

If your going to go Intel, don't get a Celeron. Go with a full fledged P4. They are more expensive, but having the ability to hyper-thread is worth it.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 03:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

what is hyperthreading?? and what is wrong with the celeron?..and Ive bought from tiger direct many times with no hassel at all...?
j0shua50 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 03:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Hyperthreading is when the CPU acts like two instead of one. It allows better multi-tasking.

Celerons are basically gutted P4s. Their onboard caches are about a fourth of a P4s, which afects how well they can do many tasks (it slows them down, since they can't have the instructions they need onhand).

TigerDirect has a very bad rep around here for taking forever to send a rebate, or not honoring rebates from them. They use an outside company to handle them, so it doesn't hurt TigerDirect itself.

Many Canadians here recommend ncix.com (I think that's how it's spelled).
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 03:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

well comparing the celeron to the p4...lets say I have a 3.2ghz celeron processor...about what P4 cpu would be around the same speed..becuase I bassically just want a fast computer
j0shua50 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 03:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

you have to also keep in mind that..I have a stict budget...so thats why I was looking at the celeron. Ive been looking at these hyperthreading. and they are very expensive..
j0shua50 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 03:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

A P4 2.8GHz will probably outperform a 3.2GHz Celeron.

I could be wrong of course, but that sounds about right.

An AMD 3200+ Venice sells for $169 on NewEgg, a 3.2GHz Intel sells for $214. The 3200+ will perform as well as if not better than the 3.2GHz. So... exactly how is AMD more expensive?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 10:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

well, Im not the formiliar with CPUs, that would be why Im here. I dont want an AMD, I want an Intel. Intel is all Ive ever had..and Im not much for trying anything new. How is 2.8ghz P4 as fast as a 3.2ghz. Isnt that ghz how fast the CPU is? and if a P$ is better. where can I find the cheapest site for a CPU?
j0shua50 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 10:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Because I cannot stress this enough:
THE MEGAHERTZ WARS ARE OVER!!! CLOCKSPEEDS MEAN NOTHING TO AMD!!!

AMD processors are simply more efficent than Intel's procs.

Quote:
well, Im not the formiliar with CPUs, that would be why Im here. I dont want an AMD, I want an Intel. Intel is all Ive ever had..and Im not much for trying anything new.
Well, that's an informed opinion, right there...[/sarcasm]
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 10:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

well Ive read that AMD is a gamers CPU... explain to me why AMD is better..and for the same speed and effciency as a P4 3.2 what a good AMD cpu would be....and the price
__________________

j0shua50 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.