building a new computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2006, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to werdna35
Default building a new computer

OK, so between selling my laptop, which was gettin old anyway, birthday money, work, and stocks (yes i play with the stock market, lol), I have about 2,500 USD to spend on a new computer. I haven't built a custom one before, so what would you all suggest?? I want it for a bit of everything, good games, but i also will be using to watch movies on and for music and junk.
__________________

werdna35 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 10:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Default

so do u wanna build or buy one because if buying id say alienware
__________________

Microsoft_Boy is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 10:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to werdna35
Default

building... hopefully.
werdna35 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 11:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Default

heres some things u will definitely want
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 (not out till thursday)
Motherboard: Foxconn 975X7AA-8EKRS2H
RAM: 2 gigabytes (two one gigabyte sticks in dual channel)
PSU: Thermaltake toughpower W0104RU ATX12V 650 watts
Video Card: eVga 7900 GT
Hard Drive: WD Raptor WD1500ADFDRTL 150 GB 10,000 RPM
Case: Basically anything with good cooling
Microsoft_Boy is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 12:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to werdna35
Default

What kind of RAM? Is all that stuff compatible? I've never built a comp before so I don't really know.
werdna35 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 12:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

It's all compatible. You need DDR2 ram. G.Skill or the such.
The General is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 05:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Default

and paint the case diarea colored
Microsoft_Boy is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 05:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Microsoft_Boy
and paint the case diarea colored
lol wtf
The General is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 06:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Microsoft has a nice build there except i would change the HDD to a 250gb WD wtih 16mb of cache, then i would use the saved money and either invest it into a sound card or a better gfx.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.