building my first PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2007, 12:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Default building my first PC

im about to build my first ever PC so i was wondering if you guys/girls can let me know if i chose some good stuff......

case: Antec Performance One P180B

mobo:GIGABYTE GA-M61P-S3 Socket AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 ATX AMD Motherboard

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Brisbane 1.9GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor

memory: OCZ Platinum 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory

HDD: Maxtor 250GB Serial ATA150 Hard Drive

Floppy:3.5" 1.44MB BLACK FLOPPY DRIVE

Combo drive: LITEON 52X32X52+16X SATA Combo Drive

Video card: BFG GeForce 7900 GS OC 256MB PCI Express

Monitor: Viewsonic VX1935wm-3-S 19" LCD Monitor

OS: Windows XP home edition

if you have any suggestions or anything let me know...thanks
__________________

unkn0wn199o is offline  
Old 03-23-2007, 04:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: building my first PC

ill help you out....

Case: looks good nice level of cooling
power supply unit: ????? this is very important if the psu fails because it is cheap or only just enough wattage then it could take out some other more expensive parts with it sometimes the whole pc can get fried
Mobo: at the moment core 2 duo is the way to go in terms of performance so I would personally get a - Abit AW9D-Max
Cpu: again intel - E6600
Memory: G-skill (2x1gb) If your going to overclock get the hz otherwise the value will do fine
HDD: Maxtor arent a company anymore they got bought out by seagate - two main manufacturers of hdd's now are seagate and western digital. A 320gb seagate barracuda 7200.10 it is the fastest highest capacity and has a 3-5year warranty
floppy: not needed unless it is for work reasons
Optical drive: sata drives just allow better cooling because of the cable size it doesn't have any benefits in terms of speed due to the limiations of having mechanical parts.
videocard: good choice but if you could scrounge a few bucks and buy a 320mb 8800gts you would be better off and future proof.
Monitor: That is my favourite monitor ever looks incredible on or off i have a VX2245 really has a wow factor.
Os: Windows xp media centre will give you the free upgrade to vista for when the bugs get fixed and is virtually the same as xp pro.

quite a few changes but I would say you did ok at choosing your first parts

Matt
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 03-23-2007, 07:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: building my first PC

Make sure the memory is compatible with the motherboard. Are you sure that motherboard uses DDR instead of DDR2?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-23-2007, 07:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: building my first PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMajor View Post
Make sure the memory is compatible with the motherboard. Are you sure that motherboard uses DDR instead of DDR2?
that motherboard uses ddr2

make sure u use the analog cable first before you use dvi, it wont show anything under the dvi cable at first boot.... idk why
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 03-23-2007, 05:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: building my first PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
HDD: Maxtor arent a company anymore they got bought out by seagate - two main manufacturers of hdd's now are seagate and western digital. A 320gb seagate barracuda 7200.10 it is the fastest highest capacity and has a 3-5year warranty
Can you clarify this statement??

Highest Speed?
15k RPM Seagate Cheetah SCSI drive...... or 10k RPM Western Digital Raptor SATA
Highest Capacity?
Any of the 750 Gig drives win here... soon to be 1 TB drives (1000 Gig)

I THINK what you meant, is that the 320 Gig drive have the best Cost/Space ratio, at about $0.26 per Gig, where most of the other drives are in the $0.30+ per gig range.

ALL Seagate drives come with a 5 year warrenty. Perhaps OLDER drives came with 3 year warrenties, but anything you buy NEW today will come with 5 year.


As far as the built, it looks pretty good, but as menioned earlier, the Core2Duo is king of the crop.... I would have to guess that you are somewhat limited as far as budget goes, since you have picked one of the lower/median models of AM2 processors available.

What is the purpose of the PC? What will it be used for? I would guess that with that 7900, you will want it to do some pretty decent gaming. What is the TOTAL budget on this build.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-23-2007, 07:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: building my first PC

I meant price/performance/cost ratio

Matt
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 12:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: building my first PC

thanks for the help guys..i cant wait 'til i finish my PC
unkn0wn199o is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 07:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: building my first PC

in all of my friend's AMD's builds he uses this, its a Asus A8N 32-SLI-Deluxe (for socket 939)
Asus A8N 32-SLI-Deluxe NVIDIA Socket 939 ATX Motherboard Audio PCI Express SLI Ready Dual Gigabit LAN SPDIF USB 2.0 Serial ATA Dual RAID A8N32SLIDELUXE at TigerDirect.com
Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition for ur socket AM2
Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition NVIDIA Socket AM2 ATX Motherboard Audio PCI Express SLI Ready Gigabit LAN Wirelss 802.11bg SPDIF USB 2.0 & Firewire Serial ATA RAID M2N32-SLIDeluxe at TigerDirect.com

they are pricey, but these mobos are so shiney looking!! but they have good features
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 11:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default Re: building my first PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by unkn0wn199o View Post

mobo:GIGABYTE GA-M61P-S3 Socket AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 ATX AMD Motherboard

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Brisbane 1.9GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor

Brisbane isnt compatible with that board, its stated on Gigabytes website unless they've released a BIOS update i havent known about
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 03-27-2007, 08:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default Re: building my first PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by unkn0wn199o View Post
thanks for the help guys..i cant wait 'til i finish my PC
Have you already purchased everything? If not, then you should follow Ethereal_Dragon's advice and answer his questions that he asked you
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.