Building a general purpose PC (Home desktop) opinions appreciated

Status
Not open for further replies.

Whelkmaster

Solid State Member
Good morning guys

Im currently throwing together a build for a family member who isnt the most advanced computer user, in fact he is a total beginner and has simply asked me to "build him a computer".

So taking into account that im making a PC that is not intended for gaming (and never will be) is essentially an internet/home office machine I have come up with the following build

MoBo: Gigabyte GA770TD3L, AMD770 Motherboard - GA-770T-D3L - Scan.co.uk

CPU: AMD CPU Athlon II 250 Dual Core Processor - ADX250OCGQBOX - Scan.co.uk

GPU: Asus HD 5450 Silent Graphics Card - EAH5450 SILENT/DI/512MD2(LP) - Scan.co.uk

Also I have taken into account all other required componants (optical, RAM, case etc) but my main interest is getting the core right and making sure the parts I have picked will work together well. Im aware that the GPU is basic but the needs are basic and so I see it as a reasonable option without having to rely on a board with onboard graphics

Anyway I would love to hear some insight on wether the parts I have picked will constitute a reasonable machine for home use

My thanks

Whelk

If gaming is not in the picture, then I would consider a motherboard with integrated graphics.

Note that specific motherboard has several revisions but like most motherboard makers, Gigabyte maintains QVL - qualified vendor lists - for CPU and RAM that is compatible for that motherboard on the boards webpage. For example, here is the page for Rev 8.8. You MUST buy a CPU from the CPU list but there are too many RAM makers and models for motherboard makers to test them all, so you must buy RAM with the same specs as that listed.

Also, I do not see operating system listed. Finally, to not try to cut costs by buying a cheap power supply. Get a quality supply from a reputable maker.