Building Gaming Rig, but unsure of parts compatibility

Status
Not open for further replies.

jadzdude

Beta member
Hi All,
I've been using an HP slimline for the last 4 years and it is time for an upgrade. I've decided to try building a new PC and since it is my first time I'd like to confirm that the parts will work together and that they are the best parts for the price.
I'm hoping this will work as a gaming rig playing all games with high setting at medium to high resolutions (maybe up to 1920x1080). I overdid the PSU a bit because I'm planning on getting another video card for crossfire after a single one is too outdated.

Here are the links to the parts at the best price I could find:

GPU-- XFX HD687AZNFC Radeon HD 6870 Video Card - 1024MB, GDDR5, PCIe, Dual mini-Display Port, HDMI, Dual DVI, Includes Dirt3 Game w/Registration at TigerDirect.com
CPU-- Newegg.com - Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost) 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80623I52500K
WiFi Card-- EnGenius EPI-3601S Wireless G Network Adapter - 108Mbps, 802.11g, PCI, Long Range at TigerDirect.com
Memory x3-- Crucial CT25664BA1339 2GB PC10600 DDR3 Desktop Memory Upgrade - 1x2048MB, Non-ECC, Unbuffered, 1333MHz at TigerDirect.com
Mobo-- Gigabyte Z68A-D3H-B3 Intel Z68 Motherboard - ATX, Socket H2 (LGA1155), Intel Z68 Express, 2133MHz DDR3, SATA 6.0 Gb/s, RAID, 7.1-CH Audio, Intel HD Graphics, Gigabit LAN, SuperSpeed USB 3.0 at TigerDirect.com
HDD-- Seagate ST31000524AS Barracuda Hard Drive - 1TB, SATA 6Gbps, 7200 RPM, 32MB at TigerDirect.com
Disc Drive-- LG WH12LS30K 12x Blu-Ray Burner - BD-R, 12x, BD-R DL 12x, BD-RE 2x, BD-RE DL 2x, DVD±R 16x, DVD±R DL 8x, DVD+RW 8x, DVD-RW 6x, DVD-RAM 12x, CD-R 48x, CD-RW 24x, Internal, SATA, 4MB, LightScribe (OEM) at TigerDirect.com
SSD-- Newegg.com - Corsair Nova Series 2 CSSD-V60GB2 2.5" 60GB SATA II Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)