Building First Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2010, 06:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Default Building First Computer

Hi guys, I am attempting to build my first computer system.I could use some insight on what
directions to go with some parts.I will list the parts that I am looking at and I would love some feedback on them.

Building in a mid tower case

CPU- AMD phenom II x4 965 Black edition Quad

Fan- Asetek 120 liqued cooling system

Motherboard- ( ill copy and past it ) MSI 770-G45 AM3 770 Chipset CrossFireX Support DDR3 Socket AM3 ATX Mainboard w/ 7.1 HD Audio, GbLAN, USB2.0, SATA-II, RAID, 2 Gen2 PCIe, 1 PCIe X1, & 3 PCI

Memory - 4 Gigs kingston ddr3@1600

800 Watt power supply

Im not sure about the video card.According to the manufacturer the motherboard is crossfire capable but im on a limited budget right now of under 1 thousand.I was looking at
the 4850 and getting another one in the near future because of its smaller price tag then the 4870.

Any fingers in the right direction would be greatly appreciated!
__________________

oddel321 is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 07:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Building First Computer

The Asetek liquid cooling system is a waste of money. Is this a pre-built system?
You don't need a 800 watt power supply. 600-650 watts will power (2) 4850 video cards and still have a little headroom. And get a good reputable brand name for reliability ( Corsair, Antec, OCZ, Enermax).
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 07:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: Building First Computer

I see that alot of cases come with power supply in them.Do you know of a good mid sized case with a good power supply.Also the motherboard, is that capable of handling a phenom CPU chip?
oddel321 is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 08:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Building First Computer

I'm not a AMD guy but most mobo's that support the Phenom II will be labeled AM2 or AM2/AM3. So my 1st guess would be no as it appears to be a AM3 only mobo.

This is a nice case and power supply combo deal especially with the additional mail-in-rebate.
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

I'm sure a AMD person will show up soon to help you
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please analyze my hijacklog. mingming12 HijackThis Logs (finished) 49 11-20-2009 11:24 PM
Building Another Computer for Recording. EvilSoup New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-08-2009 12:02 AM
Building my first computer, help please. Rex740 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 03-01-2009 06:25 PM
Computer Building Help FATAL FLAW System Upgrades 11 03-20-2008 04:00 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.