Building a Cpu - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2009, 12:59 AM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Building a Cpu

That's not always true, taste. Some ISPs just suck. This is my current test:

__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 01:01 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 37
Default Re: Building a Cpu

Quote:
Originally Posted by tastegw View Post
484 kbs on uploadin

your 15k download is pretty decent imo, better than my 10k,

but that less than 500 uploading is horrid, i dont know what the problem is.

usually your upload is about half your download from my experience. your upload should be near 5-8k.

perhaps you can look into that upload speed and pinpoint a problem.

i just ran it to give you an example

i woudlnt mind speeding both of those up how would i go about doin that
__________________

WooBree is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 01:02 AM   #23 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Building a Cpu

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
That's not always true, taste. Some ISPs just suck. This is my current test:

wow, i was not aware of this.
must just be a fluke for me, my download vs upload has allways been a 2-1 ratio or near that, i assumed it was like that for all

learn something new every day

Quote:
Originally Posted by WooBree View Post
i woudlnt mind speeding both of those up how would i go about doin that
that i cannot answer, im really just an average joe and i know squat about connection speeds as far as it comes to "how to improve" them other than getting a better connection.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 01:03 AM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Building a Cpu

By the by, taste, I'm glad Cox has good upload, if I can't get FiOS when I move, I'm getting Cox. ;D

WooBree: You can sub in a Q6600, here:

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Little bit more, but if you really want a quad. It will help you multitask, and you probably won't be overclocking, so it should be fine for you.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 01:06 AM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 37
Default Re: Building a Cpu

and that squats on wat i got now right?
WooBree is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 01:07 AM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Building a Cpu

Yup, it'll work no problem.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 01:09 AM   #27 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Building a Cpu

ive never heard of FiOS

what kind of speeds do they run on average.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 01:10 AM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 37
Default Re: Building a Cpu

alright man thanks alot ima relay this to my boy i appreciate this alot
WooBree is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 01:12 AM   #29 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Building a Cpu

Taste: You've never heard of FiOS? Verizon FiOS? Fiber optic?? D:

Verizon | FiOS Internet: Plans

Bree: No problem. Hope you enjoy it.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 01:13 AM   #30 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Building a Cpu

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
Taste: You've never heard of FiOS? Verizon FiOS? Fiber optic?? D:

Verizon | FiOS Internet: Plans

Bree: No problem. Hope you enjoy it.
na, my horizon has not seen the verizon yet

sounds expensive! fiber optic.
ill click and read up on it.
thanks for the link

edit:
so the $65 a month plan seems to be the deal, but thats alot for internet connection!
no way i could afford the 140 a month package.
guess ill be sticking with my 11/3.5 for allmost half those prices
__________________

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Call of Duty 5 taking up ~100% CPU FrozenVirus Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-11-2008 04:50 PM
Looking to get a new GFX Card and possibly a CPU... What cooling would I need? EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 17 04-19-2008 11:20 PM
Faulty motherboard or CPU! Plz Help! electricsashimi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 03-19-2008 09:59 PM
3 CPU Temperatures... 2 cores 1 CPU? commandercup Overclocking and Modding 9 03-13-2008 01:05 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.