Building Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2006, 05:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
brinks's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Building Computer

Any problems with this build?
Budget was $700, this comes to about $730.

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice Socket 939
Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24bit
CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400
WD Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
NEC 16X DVD±R DVD Burner
Antec SmartPower 2.0 SP-500 ATX12V 500W Power Supply

brinks is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 06:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
macdude425's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425

Sounds fine to me, but no case?


Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 06:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
brinks's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144

Already have a case.
brinks is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 06:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7

looks like a good build to me. you have a monitor and os already too?
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 06:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331

Looks good, but am I wrong or are people having some serious issues with the ASUS A8N-E?
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 07:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
brinks's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144

Yep, monitor and OS I already have too.

I'm not to sure if there is anything wrong with the motherboard but I guess I'll do some more research on it. Plus, is there another mobo that has:
3 pci
pci-e x1
pci-e x4
pci-e X16
3Gb/s sata

I'm trying to get a board that is able to support add-on's in the future too. Not sure what uses the pci-e x1, x4 so its safer just to get one with it.

I still have to put a modem, sound card, and tv-tuner on the pci slot so that's why i need one with 3 pci.

brinks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.