Building a Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2006, 02:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14
Default Building a Computer

Im going to build a computer i was just wonder what you all thought about this stuff i have picked out.

MoBo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131569

Processor: http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...ctCode=80725-R

RAM:2 sticks of http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145026

Video Card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127191

case and power supply: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...484&CatId=1844

Hard Drive: I think im just going to pick one up from best buy because ive heard from people around here they are pretty cheap there.

OS: Windows XP home OEM version

Optical Drive: I would like suggestions for a DVD burner for around 50 dollars.

I have a monitor, mouse and keyboard so i wont be needing those

So i think thats everything any comments and suggestions would be great. thanks
__________________

jdoglike is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 03:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I'm going to pick you apart a little. Hope you don't mind my suggestions.

Motherboard, I'd go with the one that own. It's AWESOME, and Asus has been a not as good as they used to lately. Customer service sucks.
MSI K8N Neo4-F
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130491

If you ever get into overclocking, I think what you'll want to do is either go with the Athlon 64 X2 3800+ or the 4400+. If you can afford it, get the 4400+. It has 1mb of L2 cache on both cores. If not, go ahead and downgrade to the 3800+. You won't feel a difference (hardly. I mean, it IS clocked higher)

Your ram looks good to go.

Your video card is one that is kindof akward. If you are trying to game, there's no reason not to spend $20 extra bucks and get the 6600GT which is WAY more powerful.

Your case is okay, but the power supply is going to suck. I'd get this one.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954

But since you have 2 power supplies now, you may want to change to a case that doesn't have a power supply.

If you want to know why I've done any of these things to change your setup, feel free to ask, but in my opinion, these are all things that needed to be fixed.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 03:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Ok thanks for the reply. Im going to look into that motherboard it looks pretty simaler and its cheaper and you say it is good so that sounds all around better to me. as far as the processor i probly wont be overclocking much or maybe not at all. Also how big of a difference would the 4400 be over the 4200 and the 3800. Im not building the computer for gaming specifically but i would like to be able to play the new games on it well so would that video card work well for me. I will take a look at the GT though. thanks agian. any other suggestions would be awsome.
jdoglike is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 03:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Wait i just looked at the motherboard and i dont think it can handle athlon 64 x2
jdoglike is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 03:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

It can. You just need to update the drivers after you get windows installed.

The difference between a 3800+ and a 4200+ is barely noticable. The only reason I say the 4800+ would be the next best processor to consider is because of the extra cache on the die. If you're not overclocking, the difference between a 4200 and a 4400 won't be noticeable.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 03:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Ok thanks alot. How would this MSI board compare to the one you have. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130038

Also do you think this would be a good case. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119068
jdoglike is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 03:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I personally wouldn't get that motherboard. It's a good brand, but you're paying extra for integrated graphics.

That's a pretty neat looking case. For cases, the best you're going to do is read the reviews that other customers left behind. They'll tell you if it's flimsy, sturdy, sharp, well put together, ect. Cooler master generally makes decent products.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 04:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14
Default

How bout this Motherboard http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138270
jdoglike is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 08:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Go with the msi neo4 as suggested above.

Go with the centurion case, its sweet.

Get 1 or even better, 2gb of ram to go with that DUAL core processor you are buying.

Get the fortron psu, do not use the one that comes with any case you buy. Unless you buy Antec.

cheers.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 04:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14
Default

ok thanks for the advice any more would be great.
__________________

jdoglike is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.