Building A Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 05:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 318
Default Building A Computer

Hey im planning on building a computer. It will be used for general puposes and avergage gaming and music. It wil not be overclocked. Im hoping to stay in the $400 area. Could you please tell me if this is compatible and
give me some help with the things i havent chosen, open for suggestions.

Motherboard - ?

Hard-Drive - Maxtor DiamondMax 10 - Hard drive - 160 GB - internal - 3.5" - ATA-133 - 40 pin IDC - 7200 rpm - buffer: 8 MB-$81.18

Video Card-128MB ATI Radeon 9200 PCI DDR 100436009-$90.97

Optical Drivers-52x32x52x16x Lite on CDRW/DVD IDE Internal Black -$34.98

RAM-12MB DDR PC3200 400MHz 184pin Corsair Valueselect -$54.71

Proccesor-Need help with this, thinking something like an AMD Sempron 2600

Power Supply-Enhance 400W Low Noise Power Supply W/ SATA-$33.30

Thanks
__________________

Crusader is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 06:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well the only real compatability issue would be whether the video card is pci-e or AGP and which slot the motherboard has, that and matching the socket on the motherboard to the cpu.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 06:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 318
Default

Ok i look into that thanks.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=2883\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/2883.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
DynaSig: <a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net\">Dynamic Forum Signature</a>
Crusader is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 12:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 109
Default

I'd advise a better Power Supply. I mean..33$ isn't alot, and i've been told that a power supply should be one of the top things you spend your money on, because in the end, it runs everything. I suggest the brand "Antec" as well!
Adam123 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 12:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Hey buddy... I think you were trying to say that you were getting 128mb of ram. That's really not okay. I suggest getting 512 for everyday use. Gamers need 1gb+ but even 256 starves windows for memory. You cannot run windows XP with 128... even if you're patient. For example, right now, my computer is using 524mb of ram. I only have Microsoft Paint, Everest Home Edition, Firefox, and AIM open.

A sempron 2400 would do the trick for you. Actually, any old sempron will. 2200 would too. Wherever you can find a deal, buy it. Socket A is a great processor setup.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 12:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Get the 39.99$, 400 watt fortron, much better power supply.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 04:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 318
Default

Ok thanks i look into to the stuff.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=2883\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/2883.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
DynaSig: <a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net\">Dynamic Forum Signature</a>
Crusader is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 04:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 318
Default

Hey i couldnt find that Fortton 400W power supply. I can only buy stuff off compuvest.com because that the only site i no that ships to New Zealand.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=2883\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/2883.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
DynaSig: <a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net\">Dynamic Forum Signature</a>
Crusader is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 09:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

a better power supply is definitely a good thing, the entire system does rely on it as adam pointed out and cheapies are liable to fry components in your system and then fail leaving you with a $400 paperweight
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 318
Default

Ok what are some meduim range brands i should look out for.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=2883\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/2883.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
DynaSig: <a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net\">Dynamic Forum Signature</a>
Crusader is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.