Building a computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2005, 08:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 24
Default Building a computer

Well, here it is.



Motherboard Asus A8V-DX 939 CHIPSET 5 PCI/8X AGP, 4 DDR/RAID/SATA/GB LAN

Processor AMD Athlon 64 FX-57

Memory 2048MB PC-3200 DDR(2X1024MB)

Video Card GeForce 7800 GTX SLI

Hard Drive 250GB Serial 7200RPM HD 8mb

First Optical Drive 16X DVDRW +/- Drive 8.5GB Dual Layer

Second Optical Drive 52X32X52X IDE CD Re-Writer

Sound Card Creative Labs Audigy-2 ZS Platinum 7.1 surround sound

Speakers Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Digital Speaker System

Power Supply Unit Antec Phantom 500 500W Silent Power Supply Retail

Monitor Samsung 19" 997MB Regular size Flat crt High res Monitor




I'm not very knowledgable with computers, but does this look fine?
I mean, will the psu be enough to handle this craziness, and is there anything else I should add to make this more master like?
__________________

Shomac5k is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 08:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 303
Default

I doubt you need the second CD-Re writer drive. The dvd writer should be able to write cd's.

Also, I would get a different motherboard. I heard the DFI Lanparty is a great mobo.
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
Arumuni is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 09:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Yeah you don't need a CD-RW drive if you have a DVD-RW drive. If you need 2 optical drives just get a plain DVD-ROM. Also, unless there is a huge price difference for you, I'd get a 250gig HD with a 16Mb Cache instead of the 8. Otherwise it looks good, I wish I have the $$ to get some of that stuff
cedjunior is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 09:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 153
Default

Umm, looking at that mobo, it says AGP 8x right? Well, that won't fit with your two Geforce 7800's because you need to get an SLI motherboard with two PCI Express slots. ANd i'm not sure if 500 Watts is enough for that aswell, you might need to go for a 600 Watt one.
Kilew is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 09:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

LOL!, get the DFI nF4-SLi

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136151

and get the eVGA 7800GTX w/bf2 for only 530 dollars, because the one without bf2 is 550 dollars
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 10:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
LOL!, get the DFI nF4-SLi

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136151

and get the eVGA 7800GTX w/bf2 for only 530 dollars, because the one without bf2 is 550 dollars
Yes, get this board. Your Asus wont fit the graphics card
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.