Building a comp, help chosing hardware - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2006, 03:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default Building a comp, help chosing hardware

Hey guys, I am building a computer for my brother, and have come up with the following list of components. I am buying all the hardware at Microbytes.

Motherboard: Asus A8N-SLI Premium
Processor: Athlon64 X2 3800+
Memory: Kingston KVR 400MHZ DDR 2048M kit
Hard drives: 36 gig raptors (2 drives set as RAID 0)
Graphics card: Leadtek GF7 PX7600GT (1 for now)
Case/PSU: Antec TX1050B Black 500W

Now I got a question:
For the memory I picked the cheapest 2 gig sticks, by Kingston. There are some that are much more expensive, for example an OCZ kit which is over a hundred dollars extra. (you can view the list here). What is the difference between them? Would it be more worth going for a higher end 1 gig kit than a 2 gig value kit for example? Would I see a huge difference between 215$ sticks and 330$ sticks? I am not planning to overclock btw.

Besides that, how does the system look? It's not a gaming machine but more like an all round fast computer that won't keep my bro watining for anything

If you have any comments or suggestions for other hardware feel free to post em

Oh and will 500W be sufficient considering that in the future there might be 2gigs ram, maybe 3 HDs, 2 optical drives, 2 video cards and a floppy drive?
__________________

GN85 is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 04:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Looks good, but save your money on the raptors... get a couple of sata II's and RAID em'. You'll get as much performance out of them as a couple of raptors and more room to boot. you can use the extra money to buy a better gpu when the new ones come out, or get a 7900GT

http://www.microbytes.com/computer/o...ducts_id=21595

I would look into a better CPU cooler than stock... I have a zalman 7700 on mine and it dropped the temps very nicely. but over all stock sucks...

Arctic cooling is another good brand.

I would say the memory is fine if your brother is not going to OC or get into gaming big time then I would go with what you have.
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 04:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

The differences are in the memory bandwidth, the timings, and overclockability. You can overclock value RAM little to none. The higher performance RAM usually gives tighter timings or a higher bandwidth, as well as being more capable overclockers. If you (or should I say your brother) don't want to overclock, I'd say get value RAM or 1 step higher from a brand like G.Skill or OCZ preferrably. 1GB of RAM is sufficient, but it's nice to have 2GB for some of the newer games out there that just eat it up. And yes, a 1GB increase in this case will be better than higher performance 1GB RAM.

If I recall correctly, a 74GB Raptor is cheaper than two 36GB. You might want to check that. If you need more space, get: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144701

The 7600GT is a great card to fit that type of budget, but I don't know much about the Leadtek brand. I assume they'll be ok.

Last thing, could you provide a link to the case/PSU?
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 04:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

http://www.antec.com/us/productDetails.php?ProdID=61050

That's the case.

Great feedback guys, might just change a few things :P

edit: NathanM i wanted to get 2 hard drives for the speed (raid 0), the hard drive size doesn't really matter, although what Nukem is suggesting is interesting.
GN85 is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 09:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 58
Default

a suggestion perhaps, instead of the a8n sli premium go for the a8n sli 32 deluxe only probably a few bucks more but a much nicer board and you might as well go am2 the chip set and board won't be much more, just your ram will.
tommycompton is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 11:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Well from what I've read the AM2 CPU + DDR2 ain't gonna give me a real big performance increase, and anyways with the parts I listed (with 2 160 gig HDs instead of raptors) I'm already at 2k CDN with tax, and that's my bro's maximum budget.
GN85 is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 01:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 58
Default

that is true for now. i'd definitly give the a8n sli 32 deluxe a look at even if you ain't going am2. still a better board than the premium.
tommycompton is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 02:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to dafunkmon
Default

hey so with the new edited parts you guys suggested could i play bf2? and if not what more could i invest in to play?
__________________

dafunkmon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.