building a budget pc, what vicard would be best? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2009, 06:18 AM   #11 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: building a budget pc, what vicard would be best?

At that res there is no point crossfiring you would get a 20-30% gain in fps. I think its possible to combine the 4830 and 4850 in cf if you wished. I have had that sig for ages and you are the first person to comment on it .

heres the chart to prove the CF ability
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 09:22 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: building a budget pc, what vicard would be best?

The guys here just helped me with like a $425 build for my buddy.......we came to the conclusion that for around $100-$110......the 4830 was the best "bang for the buck" card at the moment

I mean .....that is great performance at that price....especially if you are not gaming at a real high resolution.
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 11:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 127
Default Re: building a budget pc, what vicard would be best?

sweet. 4830 it is, then.
should i get the sapphire one? my case isn't going to have the best airflow, so it would be nice if the heat got put out the back, although I'm not sure any of the 4830 cards do this.

@saltnay lol yeah i didn't mean to offend you our anything, but that really cracks me up every time i read it, so i put it in there
wizzardxexe is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 11:55 AM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: building a budget pc, what vicard would be best?

He was happy you commented dude

I didn't know you could crossfire different cards. I guess you learn new things all the time.
Druid is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 12:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: building a budget pc, what vicard would be best?

Chucking air out of the back comes at a premium this is the only one on the egg Newegg.com - HIS Hightech H483QS512P Radeon HD 4830 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
It isn't worth the extra cash though so I would get this one (If you don't like WOW give it away or sell it on)
Newegg.com - ASUS EAH4830/HTDP/512MD3 Radeon HD 4830 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 12:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 127
Default Re: building a budget pc, what vicard would be best?

sweet, 75 bux after MIR.
do you know if it comes with a dvi to... i dont know what its called, old fashioned monitor cable adaptor? or does it come with a dvi cable? what is the difference?
wizzardxexe is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 01:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: building a budget pc, what vicard would be best?

Vga or D-sub the blue video connector? looks like this;
http://www.kmc.go.tz/helpdesk/ITeduc...age/dsub15.jpg

It comes with 2 dvi connectors on the board and an adapter so you can use it with a d-sub cable if needed. D-sub/ VGa is analogue, dvi is digital providing the signal is on a cable that is less then 1.5m in length it doesn't matter which you go with.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 01:25 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 539
Default Re: building a budget pc, what vicard would be best?

um no, it will not triple. And crossfire doesn't increase performance the same amount across the board. Some games are coded really well for it and see a huge increase, some games can actually see a decrease (very few these days).
__________________

harnar123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help building a i7 cpu on a $1700 budget xzxremixxzx New Systems | Building and Buying 14 01-05-2009 07:53 PM
Building Budget Carputer... where should I start ?? illnastyimpreza System Upgrades 5 04-01-2008 05:43 AM
Building new computer, $1000 budget 23asd13 New Systems | Building and Buying 54 11-14-2007 10:40 PM
Building a Budget Computer bartb New Systems | Building and Buying 11 10-12-2007 06:23 AM
Building a Gaming PC - $3500-3700 Budget markma2525 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-02-2007 09:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.