Building Budget PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2005, 04:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default Building Budget PC

I am build a extremely budget PC for my friend. It is going to be used for mainly internet browsing and typing, maby an old game every once and awhile. Anyways, this is what I was thinking:

Rosewill Value R103A ATX Mid Tower Case w/ 350W Power Supply

AMD Sempron 64 2600+ Palermo Socket 754

MSI K8M800-CE Socket 754 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

gigaram 512MB DDR SDRAM 400 (PC 3200) Memory

Western Digital Caviar 80GB 7200 RPM IDE Ultra ATA100 Hard Drive

Total Price (Shipped) = $247.50

I already have mouse, keyboard, speakers, monitor, and optical drives.
__________________

Sport1031 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 05:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Haha...thats pretty much what I picked for my dad. The mobo and CPU are really, really good. Everything else looks good too.

(You MAY want another PSU, however.)
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 06:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

dissenting opinion on the PSU. I've used 2 of them with awesome results. Rosewill may be a value brand, but everything I buy from them is solid. Great quality.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 07:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

I have one other concern, do you think that the motherboard will need an update because of the SSE3 instructions on the CPU? If it does, how do I update the BIOS without a compatible CPU.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 09:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

your compatibility is fine.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.