Building Budget Gaming PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2006, 06:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 114
Default

If I remember right I believe 600 pounds is in the range of 1200 canadian. With that much why not go conroe? Something like below.

MOTHER BOARD

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...cture=Gigabyte

$166

PROCESSOR

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...ufacture=Intel

$260


RAM

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...Z%20Technology

$218

VIDEO CARD

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...nufacture=ASUS

$238


HARD DRIVE

http://www.ncix.com/products/index....facture=Seagate

$80

Case and psu....80$



All these goodies only come to 1042 CAD which is what...roughly 500 pounds? Or course thats before shipping ect. Check with those more knowledgeble than me to ensure compatibilities ect. Heck you might even be able to squeeze in a slightly better conroe processor with your budject.

This is roughly what I would be considering I assume the prices near you would be similar to canada. This would be a beast of a machine imo :-)
__________________

Conroe is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 07:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

conroe is right
u should go conroe
im an amd fanboy but, the fact is they perform WAAAY better!
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 04:46 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Am2 is the way forward!!!

Maybe only a cheap chip atm (to stay under the £600 barrier,but they run so cool!!

So cheaper chip and 1Gb with a 7900GT Video Card, and upgrade CPU later

Do you need Windows?

Have you bought any bits yet?

Hope that helps sway your choice to AMD

Tom
tom@xenex is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 05:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 41
Default

havnt bought anything yet, im most deffinetly getting AMD.
Flexifoil is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 06:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

You should try traveling to Deutschland and shopping at Mediamarkt or Promarkt over there. Probably cheaper than the UK, plus couldn't you get it VAT free if you shopped in Germany...? If not then nevermind.
__________________

__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.