Building a basic rig, need mobo/ram/vid - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2007, 08:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Building a basic rig, need mobo/ram/vid

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
so ur calling me not helpful?
lol
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 11:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default Re: Building a basic rig, need mobo/ram/vid

You guys have me thinking now...

Any real reason to go Intel over AMD? (I don't want to start an Intel vs AMD battle)This PC will not be used for gaming. Occasionally I use her PC to encode a movie or something when I don't want to tie up my PC but other then that, it's really just a basic system. It does need to last a couple years though, so I am trying to get reputable items to keep it running. I don't have a problem spending more to keep it around a while longer.

Does AMD encode video and rip video well in comparison to an Intel C2D?

Looking at some other posts the AMD build seems pretty solid and I notice it's recomended a lot.
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 11:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Building a basic rig, need mobo/ram/vid

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
so ur calling me not helpful?
no i wasnt even referring that to you!
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 05:36 AM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Building a basic rig, need mobo/ram/vid

Quote:
Does AMD encode video and rip video well in comparison to an Intel C2D?

Intel performs much better in Audio and Video Encoding

X-bit labs - Core 2 Duo E6420, E6320 and E4400 Plus Another 15 Sub-$200 Dual-Core Processors (page 9)
maroon1 is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 05:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: Building a basic rig, need mobo/ram/vid

I will sell you my setup which will last years. its number 1 in my sig. Or I could sell you parts like the mobo, cpu, graphics card, cd rom drive rewriteable.
Norcent is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 05:41 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Building a basic rig, need mobo/ram/vid

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I will sell you my setup which will last years. its number 1 in my sig. Or I could sell you parts like the mobo, cpu, graphics card, cd rom drive rewriteable.
i doubt that.... single core is dated... it'll die like when the new "true quad-cores" come out... but he could buy it.. and upgrade the CPU to an Opteron 165 or something...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 05:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Building a basic rig, need mobo/ram/vid

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
i doubt that.... single core is dated... it'll die like when the new "true quad-cores" come out...
so sad. norcent is trying so hard to sell his rig but it's so hard
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 05:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Building a basic rig, need mobo/ram/vid

^ lol...

but i made an edit to the original....

"and upgrade the CPU to an Opteron 165 or something..." was my addition
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 05:51 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: Building a basic rig, need mobo/ram/vid

I just want to get this computer off my hands but so I can upgrade.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Create a new line on visual basic text box Mike9182 Programming 4 08-12-2007 06:35 PM
Building Media Computer - Need Advice bigbaddog Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 04-12-2007 11:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.