Building 1st Pc Selected Some Components??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2006, 07:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14
Question Building 1st Pc Selected Some Components???

Hi Guys

I am planning on builing my 1st Pc in the coming weeks I have selected the following components for this adventure.

I was just wondering if i have forgotten anything. (I have a sound card from my old Pc that i am planning to use) or substituting something for a more suitable product.

Case: Thermal Take Tsunami Dreams
Mobo: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe WiFi 590SLi
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+
CPU Fan: Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
PSU: Seasonic S12 600W Silent ATX 2.0
Mem: Crucial 2GB DDR-2 800 PC2-6400 Un-Bufferd Non ECC
Graphics: GeForce 7950 GX2
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320Gb (x2)
DVD/RW: NEC 16x16 DVD+-RW DL labelflash
DVD/CDRW: Sony CDRW/DVD Combi Drive 52x32x52x16
Floppy: Sony 1.44mb

Cheers
__________________

Brindle is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 07:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Looks good to me....you have some budget.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 08:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14
Default

I have done a fair bit of research, so i am glad someone thinks the specs are ok. Just worried I had over looked something obvious.

That little lot comes in at £1259.12 (Sterling) and is about as cheap as i can get it
Brindle is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 01:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

that is a great build, but you could probably for the same price get a conroe build, which is better.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 01:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal..._Asus_177.html

Asus P5W DH Deluxe WiFi (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard (MB-152-AS)


http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...Core_Duo2.html

Intel Core 2 DUO E6600 "LGA775 Conroe" 2.40GHz (1066FSB) - Retail (CP-128-IN)


probably cost you an extra 50 pounds or so, but its worth it...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 03:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14
Default

Does that mobo support the Nvidia GeForce 7950 or only ATI ?

It seems a lot more expensive

Mobo: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe WiFi 590SLi £123.55
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ £199.94

Intel Core 2 DUO E6600 "LGA775 Conroe" 2.40GHz £252.57
Asus P5W DH Deluxe WiFi (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 £164.44

Is it really worth the extra money when AMD will probably bring a new Faster Chip with AM2 Socket before to long (they have seemed to be the CPu of choice from what i can make out over the last few years) and that would mean new mobo and cpu. Should i stick with the AM2 Mobo for long term gain?
Brindle is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 04:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

well there are cheaper motherboards... and if you're not gonna go multi-gpu, then yes that mobo will support the 7950..

but i'm only suggesting it, the 5000+ is also a very nice chip.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 04:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14
Default

Ok, thank you for the input. I had to be honest not looked at the Intel at all. Just went straight for the AMD. I am just trying to future proof this system as much as i can within my financial constraints.

Otherwise i would be looking at the fx62 but i really can't justify £600 on a CPU. The 5000+ looked value for money by comparison.

Any suggestions on a monitor to get the best of my build without going crazy on price.

Thanks again for your opinion
Brindle is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 02:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

very nice rig
jo5h is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 11:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Default

is it compactable?
__________________

joey871 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.