build it my self - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 01-06-2008, 04:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie

Default build it my self

ok i am thinking on putting together a pc by my self the thing is i have never done it before

i have happily put ner parts in to pre built systems (HDD, gpu and ram) and can do the hardware side pretty easy but its just everything else

so here i am asking if there is any step by step guides or anything that would help me set up

just so any one knows i have not got the parts yet but its NOT going to have a floppy of a cd-rom but it it going to have dvd-rom and dvd-rw with xp or vista

My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
Old 01-06-2008, 04:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!

Default Re: build it my self

someone will come along with a guide to putting it together.

but there isn't really anything to putting a system together. I would say the only tricky parts that you really have to pay attention to are making sure the ram is seated in the right slots, make sure you put the right amount of thermal paste on, and make sure you have your front panel wires in the right places.

other then that its like blinking your eyes.

A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.