build cheap computer, need help plz - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2009, 03:19 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default Re: build cheap computer, need help plz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
Like Stalin stated, go for zedmans case, and fatclowns build.
looks like thats what im going to do but I have two questions, The case dimensions are 19.1'' x 8'' x 16.3''(DxWxH) and the board is 9.6" x 9.6" so with the case width being 8" and the board being 9.6" would it fit or am I looking at he wrong? and what is the board memory standard is DDR2 1066 can I get ddr2 800 or any other number as long as its ddr2?

sorry if thats some dumb questions but I just wanna make sure
__________________

lonz358 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:27 AM   #12 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: build cheap computer, need help plz

780G Micro ATX board

Quote:
Motherboard Compatibility ATX, Micro-ATX
^^ Specs from Case ^^

Yes, it should be able to hold your motherboard. You'll have quite a bit of room to work with as well
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 09:03 AM   #13 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: build cheap computer, need help plz

Quote:
Originally Posted by lonz358 View Post
looks like thats what im going to do but I have two questions, The case dimensions are 19.1'' x 8'' x 16.3''(DxWxH) and the board is 9.6" x 9.6" so with the case width being 8" and the board being 9.6" would it fit or am I looking at he wrong? and what is the board memory standard is DDR2 1066 can I get ddr2 800 or any other number as long as its ddr2?

sorry if thats some dumb questions but I just wanna make sure
Yeah you are looking at it slightly wrong, the 8" measurement is across the "front" of the case whereas motherboards are mounted on the side.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 11:20 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: build cheap computer, need help plz

The DDR2 800 should work just fine. It's normally more cost effective to buy it, as well.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 11:46 AM   #15 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: build cheap computer, need help plz

I would go with zedman's build. It has a faster cpu as well as better graphics card.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 11:50 AM   #16 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: build cheap computer, need help plz

I don't see why you guys would say the CM has a decent PSU

The sticker has the following info:
+12V, 10A
+5V, 14A
+3.3V, 14A
-5V, 0.5A
-12V, 0.5A
+5Vsb, 2A


This PSU is pretty bad, IMHO. If you do the maths, these figures add up to 250w (times the voltage by the amps) which is very poor. They outright lied about its real power output.

Yes, Zedman3d has better build no doubt, as it cost more money
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 09:51 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default Re: build cheap computer, need help plz

so when I get everything do I just put it all together at once or do I have to install anything first? like the graphic card
__________________

lonz358 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My First Computer Build... Please Check My Selection and answer questions brandonlowe2 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 07-16-2008 04:11 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.