build or buy barebones pc? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2005, 12:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Default build or buy barebones pc?

Hello! I've finished my research and am ready to buy. I'm looking to put together and Upper Office PC with an AMD X2 processor.

The advice on this group is great, but I'm still a bit intimidated to really build from scratch. For me a barebones system seems very appealing to me because it comes with compatible parts and seems to be not much more expensive than buying everything seperately.

To me the most appealing deal/quality combo that I've been able to find is a custom configured Systemax PC at tigerdirect.com. I can get an AMD X2 3.8Ghz system that meets all my requirements for about $800.

I've never done this before, so I wanted to ask. Any advice on wether or not that's a good idea?

Thanks for reading,
Dave
__________________

davepass is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 01:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

you shuold build your own and we will help you configure it
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 01:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Nothing beats a freshly built computer loading for the first time.... I still stare at my computer and go did I really build this?
Ste is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 07:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

if you know that the 'cutom building' computer market exists, then it is time to do some research and build it yourself. There's really nowhere else to go. I will never, ever again buy a branded PC unless it actually does get too complicated for the hobbiest.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 08:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

3.8 GHz? are you saying that because it says AMD X2 3800?
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 08:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

yeah. That's exactly what he means... just go with it. He'll find out along the way.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 08:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

lol..
well just to let you know the 3800 doesnt mean 3.8 GHz
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 10:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

like the other guys said 3800+ doesn't mean 3.8ghz. don't let that scare you off though. its more like 2ghz but it is incredibly powerful. it is approximately equivelant to a P4 at 3.8ghz hence the number.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 10:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

I definately suggest a freshly built PC unless you see some parts that are good deals because the parts in bare cost less than if bought seperately. But that usually isn't the case.
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.