Build for an Aussie - Check before I order! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2006, 01:57 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the smart power is designed for more efficiency, i.e. using less power input
the true power is designed to be more stable, i.e. voltages stay more steady

there's also this, a very good PSU:
http://www.pccasegear.com.au/category272_1.htm
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 02:09 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

That that cost a bit to much. For my build above, do you suggest the Smart Power 500W ($111 AUD) or True Power 2.0 550W ($150 AUD)?
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 02:38 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

personally I'd get the smartpower. the Truepower is better, but you won't notice the difference. the quality is still there in the smartpower.

just don't get a low budget PSU from a generic company. those are the ones with an absence of quality.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 02:41 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

Ok, I will do that then, which brings my price back under $1500. Thanks champ!

Last question.
Gecube X1900XT 256MB GDDR3 Dual -Link VIVO+AVIVO Edition
or
Leadtek PX7900GT-TDH 256MB DDR3 PCIe
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 02:48 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

at stock, the X1900 XT is better

it is possible to voltmod the 7900 GT, and overclock it a lot though, and make it perform better than the X1900 XT.
but this involves some risk to the card:
http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=116776

if you are not the kind of person that is willing to physically alter the card like that, get the X1900 XT.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 02:55 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

hmm...yeah I probably wouldntalter it physically. Does that make much difference to it?
Are Gecube a good brand?
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 04:01 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yes, Gecube are a good brand.

voltmodding: it does make a big difference.
you just decide whether it's worth the risk.

you could simply do the conductive pen mod, which isn't very risky.
if you do the resistor mods, it is a fair bit more risky. of course that depends on your soldering skills.

the conductive pen mod allows you to get up to 1.55V, which should allow you to get past 650MHZ pretty easily.

but note that you really need extra cooling if you want to get past 1.4V

before I voltmodded, I could overclock to 560MHZ
after I voltmodded, I could overclock to 750MHZ
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 04:08 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

Thanks for that. Is a X1900GT as good as the XT?
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 08:53 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

no. it only has 36 pixel processors and 12 texture units.
X1900 XT's have 48 pixel processors and 16 texture units
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 09:16 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

Ok, cool! Thanks for your help mate!
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.