Build for an Aussie - Check before I order! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2006, 01:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default Build for an Aussie - Check before I order!

I think I have finally chosen the parts I want for my new build. Took me a while but I think I'm happy with the following. I was just wondering if you could check over it for me and make sure everything is compatible. Cheers!

CPU:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ AM2
http://www.cworld.com.au/product_info.php?ID=121560

MAINBOARD:
Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe Socket AM2/nForce 570
http://www.cworld.com.au/product_info.php?ID=121686

RAM:
Kingston DDRII533 2GB KIT KVR533D2N4K2/2G
http://www.cworld.com.au/product_info.php?ID=117384

HDD:
Western Digital 250G 7200RPM 16MB SATA II
http://www.cworld.com.au/product_info.php?ID=119891

GRAPHICS CARD:
Leadtek PX7900GT-TDH 256MB DDR3 PCIe
http://www.scorptec.com.au/product/18984

CASE:
Thermaltake Soprano VB1000BWS
http://www.scorptec.com.au/product/20103

PSU:
Antec 500W True Power 2.0 PSU
http://pcmaniacs.com.au/product_info...oducts_id=2017

TOTAL: $1,602 AUD | $1,212 USD
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 02:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
dcc
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Default

I would go with Crucial or GeIL rather than the Kingston.

Rather than buying a kit, just purchase two modules that are exactly the same, it will be a lot less, and work just as well.

You might consider going with a little larger PSU, it will allow you to add to the system later. Some of the graphics cards that are coming out are power hungry.
__________________

dcc is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 02:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 128
Default

I would get at least 500 Watt power supply.
suppafreak is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 02:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

So you mean buy two of the same 1GB modules?
I wasn't sure what RAM I should buy that would be compatible with the motherboard because I have heard people have had problems. I picked the Kingston because on their website they had a list of RAM that would work with the M2N-SLI Deluxe.

I don't know what Crucial or GeIL RAM will be guarenteed to work with this motherboard.

I will definately look at getting the PSU with the higher Wattage. Thanks!
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 03:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

its a good build, if you dont change anything it should still work out well
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 08:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

Why should I go the other brands over the Kingston? Is this because of performance. If not I will probably stick with the Kingston because I know it's compatible.
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 11:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

Should I get the Antec Smart Power 500W or should pay the extra $50 AUD and get the True Power 2.0 550W?
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 01:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

go to www.msy.com.au

their site is not great. but their prices are really good.
I go to MSY for just about all my PC parts.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 01:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 365
Default

Yes definatly check out msy.com.au although a horror to navigate they do have some great deals there.
__________________
Elite Bullet is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 01:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

Yeah the only reason I post the links above was so everyone could view the product, because you can't on MSY. Take no notice of the prices in those links.

Nearly all of the parts I am buying from MSY, because they are certainly the cheapest. Thanks guys.

^ Smart Power or True Power? Is it worth the extra $40 - 50?
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.