Budget graphics card - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2013, 09:17 PM   #31 (permalink)
Tactical Espionage Poster
 
Ghostsong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Shadow Moses
Posts: 3,164
Default Re: Budget graphics card

Do I need to connect this card to the psu? I don't the connections.

Nevermind it says optional on the instructions.
__________________

Ghostsong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 09:30 PM   #32 (permalink)
Tactical Espionage Poster
 
Ghostsong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Shadow Moses
Posts: 3,164
Default Re: Budget graphics card

image.jpg

I need to add the ram tomorrow, but how does this look? Suggestions?
__________________

Ghostsong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 09:37 PM   #33 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Budget graphics card

I would actually take the remaining bundle of cables and put them above the optical drive to make sure the GPU gets proper airflow. Also, move that 4/8pin cable above the CPU fan so it won't get snagged or caught.

The beauty of that card is it shouldn't have a 6pin power input.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 09:53 PM   #34 (permalink)
Tactical Espionage Poster
 
Ghostsong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Shadow Moses
Posts: 3,164
Default Re: Budget graphics card

image.jpg

Ok how's this? The cords are all really stiff, but I'm trying.
Ghostsong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:00 PM   #35 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Budget graphics card

I meant in the bay with the optical drive. You'll have to take the zip ties off and split it up because not all of them will fit and they'll need to be flattened out a bit. You can also go under the GPU from the bottom with that 8pin. The other half of the bundle if extended then re-zipped can be put in that bay with the HDD to split the bulk up and put it elsewhere.

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:03 PM   #36 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Budget graphics card

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Care if a few of us join you this weekend? Having a LAN and I want to get my buddy to appreciate Hardcore. Just know that we're noobs.
Come on in. If you want the Teamspeak info just let me know.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:21 PM   #37 (permalink)
Tactical Espionage Poster
 
Ghostsong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Shadow Moses
Posts: 3,164
Default Re: Budget graphics card

Thanks I think I got it.
Ghostsong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 08:46 PM   #38 (permalink)
Tactical Espionage Poster
 
Ghostsong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Shadow Moses
Posts: 3,164
Default Re: Budget graphics card

Everything is working great! My wife is watching her shows, and though I only got to try S.t.a.l.k.e.r. it was running very smooth. I plan on trying something a little more graphically taxing later tonight or tomorrow. Thanks for all the help.
Ghostsong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 08:58 PM   #39 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Budget graphics card

Good to hear. Stalker is old, but it's still amazing (IMO). I love that game.

Download and give the Complete Mod a try.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 11:06 PM   #40 (permalink)
Tactical Espionage Poster
 
Ghostsong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Shadow Moses
Posts: 3,164
Default Re: Budget graphics card

Sooo it looks like HP may have locked the BIOS so I can't change the RAM speed and its stuck at 1066. Should I just go ahead and put the other 4gb back in too, or is there a way to unlock the BIOS?
__________________

Ghostsong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.