Budget Gaming

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phlegm

Beta member
I've been browsing around trying to find a mid-price gaming computer, figured this would be the place to ask. This is what I'm looking at so far:

Motherboard:
Asus P5N32E-SLI Plus Review - Page 1 - Introduction

Processor:
INTEL BX80552641 - Pentium 4 641 3.20GHz Processor - 3.20GHz - 800MHz FSB - 2MB L2 - LGA775 Socket -

HDD:
Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (Perpendicular Recording) ST3250820AS 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

RAM:
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

Seeing as I'm extremely new to the computer building world, I'm assuming I've left some parts out. The total here comes to about $500 bucks, which is in my price range. I have a monitor, keyboard, and mouse already, so I just need the machinery and I'm good to go. Any suggestions are much appreciated, as well as a little bashing here and there.

I currently have the option of buying an HP Pavilion 524c for extremely cheap, possibly 100-200 dollars, so would it be worth it to buy for parts? The motherboard still uses A-Sockets and most of the other aspects of it are sub-par, but I was thinking more for the floppy drives and such.

Floppy drives aren't expesive, Period. You could spend 6$ to get a new one, Dvd/cd Drives aren't that expensive either, if thats what your wonderin?

Socket A Mobo, outdated and useless now, even a 30$ sempron CPU computer could out perform it. Thats how good technology has gotten...

Use the amd build that b1pal made and if you want to save a few more bucks you can go with the biostar 550. after rebates you shoul dbe at like 526

How upgradeable are those two different options? I would like to be able to simply replace each part as it becomes obsolete, as opposed to ditching the whole system due to compatibility issues.