Budget Comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2006, 02:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

okay... i don't know what happened there.. but it made the thing twice with nothing in it... i hit submit and it gave me that one screen where it couldnt reach it... can a moderator please delete the other one... sorry for the inconvenience....

anywho, this is what was supposed to be there

okay.. i know i've had this before... and i never got around to it, but i guess i need a refresh, and with all these parts getting cheaper, its a good time to start making my dad a comp... he's really getting on my nerves, coming in my room from 5-10 using my computer for his work because his computer doesnt have the internet....

i need to build him a computer obviously, for dirt cheap, it can have 256 mb ram if thats the case, all he does is internet and word... and i'm looking around lets say 250-300 dollars.. it can be crap, as long as it can get those jobs done without horribly lagging... he's happy with his 700 mhz celeron and 192 mb ram... so even a 1.6 ghz celeron w/256 mb ram should serve him justice. I already have windows, keyboard, mouse, monitor and printer. Don't need optical drive or hdd, thats already covered as well.
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 04:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

heres a cheap build i have looked into this a few times already.

Barebone kit: $69.99 + $10.50= 80.49
MSI MBOX PM8M2-V Intel Socket T(LGA775) Intel Pentium 4/Celeron
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16856101237

CPU:$57.00+$.99 = 57.99
Intel Celeron D 326 Prescott 533MHz FSB LGA 775 2.53Ghz
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819112207

Dvd burner:$35.99 (free shipping)= 35.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827106014

Memory:$39.25+$4.81=44.06
512mb kingston
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141436

Hard drive:$50.00 + $.99=50.99
Western Digital Caviar WD800BB 80GB 7200 RPM IDE
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...SubCategory=14

Total = 269.52

Total without hdd and opt. drive = 182.54 ( u can even upgrade to a penitum 4 with the extra cash )

Things can be modified to you needs but this isn't a bad computer for beign new and under $300 shipped.
__________________

__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 04:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

celerons are rubbish. swap out the motherboard, get perhaps an Asus K8V-MX and a Sempron 3000+ Palermo core and you'll be good to go.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 04:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

suprised noone has suggested dell... lol
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 04:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

that is why i said he can upgrade to a pentium 4... poeple compare semprons with celerons. They make that barbone in AMD also but its 75.XX and u can hook up a AMD cpu with it but i would jsut go with Intel i know people here hate Intel but for multi-tasking, office and internet usage it can be better then a single core amd when your on a budget. I know you guys hate to admit it and all but on these low budgets AMD single cores can't multi-task to much like Intel can.

However if it was a higher budget i would say go AMD all the way but its not so hit it up with a Intel and he well be happy and it well do what he needs.
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 05:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

I agree with the dell comment but hehe i think they are all learning *Looks around waiting for the helpless soul to say DELL*
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 05:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

unless he upgrades to the P4 though Intel would not be better. i daresay a Sempron 3000+ would be better than that celeron in almost any way imaginable. it is true though about the upgradeability of the s754 board though :/ from what we've been told i think the sempron would be adequate.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 05:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

well crap dude... for 300 bucks you cant beat a dell.. lol... monitor included.. windows xp.. theres atleast 200 bucks... then the tower itself.. its pretty cheap but you get what you pay for.... i would never recomend one but im saying im suprised people havent because usually when low budget comp questions come up people auto say dell.. lol
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 05:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

ya i was jsut thinking that.. if he didn't upgrade hte processor then i would say go AMD but if he did upgrade go with the pentium 4. I don't know if the the celeron and the Sempron would be close.. altho i haven't acually used either of them so....
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 05:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i'll put it this way, my grandfathers sempron 3000+@stock speed runs superpi to 1M at EXACTLY the same time someone listed for a 3.0ghz prescott P4. a 2.5ghz celeron wouldn't even perform as well as a 2.5ghz P4 so its a little far behind
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.