btx and atx power supply/mobo question? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2005, 08:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default btx and atx power supply/mobo question?

hi

im building my first computer.. sigh
and i ran across a small problem and im not sure what i have to do..

the power supply in the case i bought is a 20 pin power plug..
with a smaller 4 pin plug



the mother board is a 24 pin plug..
and has the option for either a smaller 4 or 6 pin plug

so i bought a 20 to 24 pin adapter for the main plug..


BUT
when i tried to turn the power on.. nothing happened..
theres no LED lights turning on.. on the motherboard when i connect the power cord
and as far as i can tell.. theres no power reaching the motherboard..

my question is..
do i have to get a 4 to 6 pin plug adapter
for the smaller style plug as well?

or could it just be that they really did sell me
a bad power supply outa the box..

Heres the case

heres the motherboard

i hope i explained that as clearly as i could.. lol

and yes im aware of the semi bad reviews
for the case and the power supply
__________________

GeTSm0keD is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 12:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default

It could be many things....did you connect the switches on the board correctly, usually the text on the sockets should face up. The front panel needs to be connected to the board correctly. I've had wierd issues with connecting the leds. Try just connecting the reset and power switch.

When powering up, you could try hooking up a multimeter or voltage meter to one of the 4 pin drive sockets to see if anything happens.

The molex plug is usually
Yellow-Black-Black-Red

Yellow = +12V
Black = 0 or GND
Black = 0 or GND
Red = +5V

yellow + black should be tested for activity and
red + black shoud be tested.

You could also get a post card(an ISA/PCI card with post build in it..I got mine on ebay) to see what the problem is.

Also, test the board in a different case thats p4 ready(the 4 pin thingy)...

I'm not sure what else to tell you .....
__________________

shdwsclan is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 12:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Don't use the adapter and use the 20 pin plug and the 4 pin plug.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 08:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by shdwsclan
It could be many things....did you connect the switches on the board correctly, usually the text on the sockets should face up. The front panel needs to be connected to the board correctly. I've had wierd issues with connecting the leds. Try just connecting the reset and power switch.

When powering up, you could try hooking up a multimeter or voltage meter to one of the 4 pin drive sockets to see if anything happens.

The molex plug is usually
Yellow-Black-Black-Red

Yellow = +12V
Black = 0 or GND
Black = 0 or GND
Red = +5V

yellow + black should be tested for activity and
red + black shoud be tested.

You could also get a post card(an ISA/PCI card with post build in it..I got mine on ebay) to see what the problem is.

Also, test the board in a different case thats p4 ready(the 4 pin thingy)...

I'm not sure what else to tell you .....
i tried moving the front panel pins with the labels face up..
that didnt work..

i tried removing the LED pins..
that didnt work..

I used my voltage metter..
and nothing lit up when i plug around with it in the device plugs..
im assuming thats a good sign that they gave me a bad supply
right outa the box brand new..?

i have a power supply in my good comp thats p4 ready..
but i just hate to screw up my one good workin computer lol


Quote:
Originally posted by toxicity_27
Don't use the adapter and use the 20 pin plug and the 4 pin plug.
i can't....
GeTSm0keD is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 11:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default

It could be a dead board, but its hard to believe that from asus.
Do you get any error codes or beeps???

Hmm....
Make sure your ddr is 533 or 667.
Otherwise.....test it with a different power supply.

By the way, that 20 pin plug is also refered to as the backup power connector. My asus mobo uses a 4pin p4, 24pin atx and an optional 20 pin backup(which i have connected).
shdwsclan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.