bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2009, 06:59 PM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Why can't it be ram?

I'm not sure all boards squeel if theres no ram at all.

The only other part thaqt can be dead is the mobo then.
mine does. and the mobo isnt dead, i replaced it twice and got another one, same thing no matter what.
__________________

psycopuppy is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 07:24 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

I'm still thinking power supply. To start with Mushkin really isn't known as a power supply company which makes me think that Mushkin is outsourcing the whole thing. While it's rated at 650 watts it's not designed the best. Most of your better power supplies have 1 or 2 Massive 12v rails to deliver the power. The Mushkin is a (4) 12v Rail design which means each Rail is rated for a smaller amount of power. Because of this it is easier to overload one of the rails causing a power issue. You need to make sure your equalizing the power consumption on each rail.

This is a good 650 watt power supply.
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 07:30 PM   #23 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

*READ FIRST* Updated Power supply guide
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Recommendations:
Reputable, But harder to find:
How much does the rest of the hardware cost: Variable
What can you expect to pay for a PSU in this list? : Variable, expect to pay more.


Super Micro
Zippy
Etasis
Enlight
Enhance
Sparkle
Mushkin
Not too bad apparently.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 08:41 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
I'm still thinking power supply. To start with Mushkin really isn't known as a power supply company which makes me think that Mushkin is outsourcing the whole thing. While it's rated at 650 watts it's not designed the best. Most of your better power supplies have 1 or 2 Massive 12v rails to deliver the power. The Mushkin is a (4) 12v Rail design which means each Rail is rated for a smaller amount of power. Because of this it is easier to overload one of the rails causing a power issue. You need to make sure your equalizing the power consumption on each rail.

This is a good 650 watt power supply.
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies
even if it dosent output the full 650W it is still more then enough to run what I have. **** a 200W would be good enough to run it. it is not the power supply (unless of course I am the unluckest guy in the world and that psu is messed up as well....which would just figure.)

so lets see...it is not (beacuse I have replaced it and have had the same results)
The Power Supply
The Motherboard
The Ram
The Video Card

which means it has to be the processor. does anybody else think so or am I just crazy?

EDIT: you cant say * * * * ???
psycopuppy is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 08:54 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

i cannot start a new thread. i cant find the button that the message told me about. can anybody tell me how to do this?
rawr123 is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 09:38 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rawr123 View Post
i cannot start a new thread. i cant find the button that the message told me about. can anybody tell me how to do this?
it should be at the top of the forum. if not then did u register?
psycopuppy is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 09:51 PM   #27 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Į\_(ツ)_/Į
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

The new thread button looks like this:


As a new member, you cannot post in Off Topic or Buy/Sell/Trade. The descriptions of those forums plainly states this.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 10:08 AM   #28 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
The new thread button looks like this:


As a new member, you cannot post in Off Topic or Buy/Sell/Trade. The descriptions of those forums plainly states this.
theres a buy sell trade thingy on here??? sweet ^__^ maybe if this pos dosent work i can sell some of it off...
psycopuppy is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 11:08 AM   #29 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
That guide isn't bad but I'm not in 100% agreement with it. It is only a Guide after all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by psycopuppy View Post
even if it dosent output the full 650W it is still more then enough to run what I have. **** a 200W would be good enough to run it. it is not the power supply (unless of course I am the unluckest guy in the world and that psu is messed up as well....which would just figure.)
My last point was not so much that your power supply is bad, but more that you should ensure that your not overloading one of the 12v rails

Quote:
Originally Posted by psycopuppy
so lets see...it is not (beacuse I have replaced it and have had the same results)
The Power Supply
The Motherboard
The Ram
The Video Card

which means it has to be the processor. does anybody else think so or am I just crazy?

EDIT: you cant say * * * * ???
You very well may have a bad cpu. It does happen. But it doesn't happen often. I'd say 1 in a 1000 cpu's that are rma'd are actually bad.

And you still haven't told us the Make and Model of your ram. It could be a compatibility problem, that's why they make compatibility lists.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-22-2009, 11:11 PM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

well, turns out it was the cpu the whole time...apparently it was faulty when it shipped, but since it was so long ago I cant return it. but thats my problem. Just wanted to thank everyone who helped me out and to let everyone know the end of my story, I know how much you all were dying to hear it :P
__________________

psycopuppy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to restore Dell vista computer to store bought conditions EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 3 06-21-2009 09:10 AM
10 Ways To Make Linux Boot Faster Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 08-04-2008 09:36 AM
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.