bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2009, 08:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 42
Default bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

I bought a new mobo, cpu, psu, vid card, and ram. I installed it all, turned it on, and my moniter stays blank. I know the moniter is not the problem, I tested it out on this laptop. it works fine. I exchanged the mobo, still the same problem. I bought a new mobo, still the same problem. I tried it on my old mobo, still the same problem. I just bought the psu today, I tried it on my old psu, same problem. It does not POST, go to BIOS, make any beebs, or anything else. The monitor stays black. The psu is 650W, which is an upgrade of my old psu which was 450W

can somebody please help me out here, I have been struggling with this problem for quite some time now and have no idea what is wrong.
__________________

psycopuppy is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 09:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Torrance ,California
Posts: 130
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

does the MB have onboard graphics ??
you replaced everything except the hard drive ??
__________________

baih777 is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 10:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by baih777 View Post
does the MB have onboard graphics ??
you replaced everything except the hard drive ??
yes it has onboard graphics. I plugged the monitor into the onboard graphics and the vid card (had the vid card unplugged when using the onboard) and before you ask I cant go into BIOS as my computer dosent boot up properly. And yes I replaced everything except the hd. I even had the hd unplugged when I started the computer seeing if I could even get into BIOS. no such luck. I have not plugged the hd in at all.
psycopuppy is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 08:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

full specs of the new parts. Something is dead or incompatible.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 10:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
full specs of the new parts. Something is dead or incompatible.
here are the specs:

PSU: 650W

MOBO: Biostar MCP6P-M2 (website: Biostar MCP6P-M2 - motherboard - micro ATX - GeForce 6150 - Socket AM2)

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Socket AM2

Video Car: GeForce 9500 GT

RAM: 2G DDR 2 667 MHz

everything has been replaced except for the cpu and ram, And I checked to make sure and the they are both compatible with my mobo. So I'm stuck

also, I posted this problem on another thread (which I thought had been deleated) so you can look on there as well-> Bought some parts to upgrade my PC and now my monitor is blank.
psycopuppy is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 11:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

When you power up with no ram at all, do you get a bunch of beeps?
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 11:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aliasaid View Post
When you power up with no ram at all, do you get a bunch of beeps?
nope, no beeps no matter what i do
psycopuppy is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 12:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 30
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

Sorry but I have a stupid question, did you plug a PC speaker header into the motherboard? From the manufacturer's website I cannot see an on-board PC speaker soldered on.

Have you cleared the CMOS?
TheKaras is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 12:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheKaras View Post
Sorry but I have a stupid question, did you plug a PC speaker header into the motherboard? From the manufacturer's website I cannot see an on-board PC speaker soldered on.

Have you cleared the CMOS?
yes to both
psycopuppy is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 12:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: bought some new equipment, now computer dosent boot.

Pull the mobo out of the case. On a cardboard box, Put ONLY 1 ram stick and the cpu in, connect the psu, remember to connect the 4/8pin in for cpu power, and then using a screwdriver jump start the power pins.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to restore Dell vista computer to store bought conditions EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 3 06-21-2009 09:10 AM
10 Ways To Make Linux Boot Faster Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 08-04-2008 09:36 AM
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.