Bought a new SSD, have some questions about cloning - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2014, 02:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Bought a new SSD, have some questions about cloning

Hey everyone, long time since i've been here but i recently purchased a new SSD for my PC. I bought this one at the price of $154.95 at the time: Amazon.com: Samsung Electronics 840 EVO-Series 250GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Single Unit Version Internal Solid State Drive MZ-7TE250BW: Computers & Accessories. It is on it's way next week or so.

Did much research and is a great deal that i couldnt pass up. I have some questions about cloning after doing some research as well. In my situation, my HDD is partitioned in two drives for my 1TB: 149GB and 781GB, so the small portion is only OS and applications and a few drivers. I believe i clone the smaller portion and the rest should be history but does this mean I can delete the old portion of my HDD or must I keep it at all times? I would like to get that space back and perhaps combine it with my Local D drive using GParted LiveCD or something. I plan on buying a new 2 or 3TB HDD in the summer to replace this 1TB while the 1TB can be used for whatever i want it to be. What are my best options to make this transition painless and as fast as possible? Also, should I have all my drivers on the smaller partition before cloning so I can keep it all on the same drive?
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 03:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Bought a new SSD, have some questions about cloning

Cloning software: CloneZilla is what I use, and would recommend.

As for the actual cloning, you can clone individual partitions. What I would do (and several other people here would also recommend the same thing) is create an image of the partition(s) to an external, or separate HDD. Not sure if it's safe to clone to a separate partition on the same HDD or not - I'm guessing it would be fine though if you wanted to do that. Also, make sure you select the system boot partition from the 1TB as well as your 149GB partition (I believe the system boot is 100MB); otherwise you'll have to rebuilt your boot sector which can be a pain to do.

Then, once that is done, clone that image to the SSD. That way your main drive is never touched except read from - funky things can happen sometimes, and boot sectors can get totally FUBAR'd by cloning sometimes.

After the restore from image is complete, then disconnect the 1TB totally and boot off of the SSD to make sure it loads up fine. If it loads up fine, then run a chkdsk with the flag to remove bad-sector allocations according to Windows; the command is: chkdsk C: /b
This should ALWAYS be done after cloning to a new HDD to get rid of any flags for the drive.

After you know you can successfully boot into Windows from your SSD, then re-connect your 1TB, boot into GParted, and delete the partitions you cloned, and then expand your 781GB data partition to fill up the rest of the space.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 06:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Bought a new SSD, have some questions about cloning

I shouldnt use the software that comes with the SSD? How do i the chkdsk through DOS command only? I forget how to access that window. Also i cant make it choose to do one partition to system image backup using Windows' version. I do have File History that i can use. Look:

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 06:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Bought a new SSD, have some questions about cloning

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
I shouldnt use the software that comes with the SSD? How do i the chkdsk through DOS command only? I forget how to access that window.
Start -> type: cmd -> right click / run as admin -> chkdsk c: /b -> Will say it cannot lock current drive and to run on next reboot -> Type Y and hit enter.

Quote:
Also i cant make it choose to do one partition to system image backup using Windows' version. I do have File History that i can use. Look:
This is why I suggested using CloneZilla . You can make images based off of partitions or whole disks.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 06:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Bought a new SSD, have some questions about cloning

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Start -> type: cmd -> right click / run as admin -> chkdsk c: /b -> Will say it cannot lock current drive and to run on next reboot -> Type Y and hit enter.



This is why I suggested using CloneZilla . You can make images based off of partitions or whole disks.
Awesome. Do you suggest I have all my drivers on the main partition before cloning or dont worry about that?

UPDATE: Trying to download and prepare Clonezilla. It is confusing :/.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 07:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Bought a new SSD, have some questions about cloning

Not sure what you mean. Your drivers are stored (once installed) in Windows directories. So when you clone it, they will get cloned as well.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 08:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Bought a new SSD, have some questions about cloning

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Not sure what you mean. Your drivers are stored (once installed) in Windows directories. So when you clone it, they will get cloned as well.
drivers for my motherboard, GPU, etc are on the D drive and not the C drive.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 02:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Bought a new SSD, have some questions about cloning

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
drivers for my motherboard, GPU, etc are on the D drive and not the C drive.
Your drivers should be stored under C:\Windows\System32 and C:\Windows\System32\Drivers

Are you saying you moved these folders to your other drive?

Or do you mean you installed the GUI interface programs to your other drive?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 11:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Bought a new SSD, have some questions about cloning

An overdue update but I actually looked into the software provided by Samsung for my SSD. The Samsung Data Migration and Magician software seems promising and provides simple and easy way to clone my OS. Here is a link for the Data Migration part from Vortex.net explaining their process and I like it. Is there a reason that I shouldnt use this software and stick with Clonezilla instead?

Samsung SSD Magician and Data Migration Review - Data Migration
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 11:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Bought a new SSD, have some questions about cloning

Never used it, so it's up to you really lol.

I just stick to CloneZilla since it's what I've used forever.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cloning, ssd

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem cloning SSD Caliburn System Upgrades 11 01-09-2014 01:59 AM
Help configuring the SSD I just bought Druid System Upgrades 13 11-01-2012 07:00 PM
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 01:12 PM
BSOD after cloning partition from bad drive to SSD jrobot Microsoft Windows and Software 1 01-05-2011 02:01 PM
Cloning system HD, questions. snowsurfer Microsoft Windows and Software 5 05-07-2009 04:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.