bought new computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2007, 02:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to dafunkmon
Default bought new computer

i bought a new computer to play games, it comes with 2 gigs ram, 8600 gts, core 2 duo 1.86 ghz fsb 1066, i was wondering how is it that core 2 duo's exactly work? since it has two processors in one that means that altogether the whole processor is running at 3.72 ghz rite?
__________________

dafunkmon is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 02:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: bought new computer

yes and no... i'm not the best person to answer this, so i'll ask wikipedia:

Intel Core 2 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Intel Core (CPU architecture) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 03:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to dafunkmon
Default Re: bought new computer

no that didnt help at all...all im wondering is, i see system requirements for games saying 3.0 ghz or faster processor is needed to play this game, just for example, so here i am with this core 2 duo at 1.8 ghz, will this run games that require 3.0 ghz or faster processors? also what is my processor equivalent to ghz wise?

the games i want to play are battlefield 2, day of defeat source(hl2), oblivion, rise of nations(the new release), basically any game out rite now.
dafunkmon is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 03:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: bought new computer

Quote:
since it has two processors in one that means that altogether the whole processor is running at 3.72 ghz rite?
No it means that each core is 1.86GHz

Dual core performs better than single cores in multitasking and in multi-threaded applications.

But in single threaded applications, the dual core has no advantage over single core.


Quote:
no that didnt help at all...all im wondering is, i see system requirements for games saying 3.0 ghz or faster processor is needed to play this game, just for example, so here i am with this core 2 duo at 1.8 ghz, will this run games that require 3.0 ghz or faster processors? also what is my processor equivalent to ghz wise?
When they say that system requirements is 3.0GHz for example, they mean that you need to have a Pentium4 3.0GHz.

However, Core 2 Duo 1.86GHz outperforms Pentium 4 3.6GHz and Pentium D 3.6GHz because it can do more instructions per clock

So, yes core 2 duo at 1.86GHz will run games that require 3.0GHz.........
maroon1 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 04:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default Re: bought new computer

And no, it won't equal 3.72ghz.
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 05:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: bought new computer

ghz means nothing...........
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 08:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 94
Default Re: bought new computer

You can run pretty much any game out right now with your set-up at least on medium settings or better.
jakebrick is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 08:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: bought new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
ghz means nothing...........
yes it does
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 09:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: bought new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
No it means that each core is 1.86GHz

Dual core performs better than single cores in multitasking and in multi-threaded applications.

But in single threaded applications, the dual core has no advantage over single core.




When they say that system requirements is 3.0GHz for example, they mean that you need to have a Pentium4 3.0GHz.

However, Core 2 Duo 1.86GHz outperforms Pentium 4 3.6GHz and Pentium D 3.6GHz because it can do more instructions per clock

So, yes core 2 duo at 1.86GHz will run games that require 3.0GHz.........
ok was thinking that but wasn't entirely sure.... didn't wanna get flamed
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
my computer hardware problem has been found...... Wildside Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-12-2007 04:33 PM
computer freezes/beeps forever cullensmi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-12-2007 12:40 PM
Some upgrading / building new computer and counseling needed akasixcon New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-21-2007 10:26 PM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.