Bottleneck question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2008, 05:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Default Bottleneck question

Would a AMD Athlon X2 5000+ 2.6 ghz with an HD4850 bottleneck? Also would i need more than 450 watt psu with the hd4850?
__________________

lpcosmo is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 08:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Bottleneck question

The cpu probably wouldn't bottleneck it, at least not significantly. A 450w psu may be enough but it depends on the amps on the 12v rails. If you post the model of your psu we can make sure it is enough.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 08:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Bottleneck question

Just overclock the 5000 BE to at least 2.8 or 3.0 ghz then you should have no problem.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 04:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Bottleneck question

Quote:
Originally Posted by lpcosmo View Post
Would a AMD Athlon X2 5000+ 2.6 ghz with an HD4850 bottleneck? Also would i need more than 450 watt psu with the hd4850?
The X2 5000+ can hit 3.0ghz on stock cooling with no voltage increase. Once a CPU hits 3.0ghz it doesn't or barely bottlenecks. Dude just OC you CPU and you won't have to worry about bottle necking. My 4800+ at 2.8ghz wouldn't bottle neck a GTX 280 so you don't have much to worry about.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 04:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Bottleneck question

Quote:
Originally Posted by lpcosmo View Post
Would a AMD Athlon X2 5000+ 2.6 ghz with an HD4850 bottleneck? Also would i need more than 450 watt psu with the hd4850?
No it won't, plus it hits 3.0ghz easily

Depends if its a good quality PSU
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 05:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Bottleneck question

CPU bottleneck is pretty much determined by the resolution you play at. The smaller the resolution, the less the video card becomes the bottleneck and the more the cpu does.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would my computer bottleneck? phuse System Upgrades 8 07-20-2008 10:55 AM
bottleneck question Transerver System Upgrades 4 04-17-2008 02:33 PM
New computer, tell me what you think! and one little question too rgoldberg1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-12-2007 10:19 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Bottleneck Question agentnibbles New Systems | Building and Buying 16 08-15-2007 10:11 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.