Bottleneck with AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2008, 03:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default Bottleneck with AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+

Hello,

this is my current specs:

Motherboard: Biostar NF61S Micro AM2 SE
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual core processor 4400+ 2.31GHz
Video card: ATI Radeon HD4850 512mb
ram: 2GB

I think my processor bottleneck because of the new video card (HD4850), I checked with my friend that has same video card, but he has CPU - Intel E8400 and different motherboard, we both played GTA IV for PC, he was getting 40-60 fps, and I only 10-15 fps which didn't allow me to play the game property.

That's why I am thinking of new processor.

I've got two options, To upgrade my processor and motherboard to Intel C2D E8400 , and the motherboard too (pretty much expensive for me),
or:
upgrading my CPU to AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Socket AM2 (3.00GHz).

now look, I don't need the top of the top CPU, and I'm short in cash.
I know the AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Socket AM2 is weaker compared to the E8400, but I only need processor that won't bottleneck with my video card. as far as I know, The more GHz the lower bottleneck I will get, And I wanted to make sure that I won't get bottleneck with the AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Socket AM2. please let me know if you have any idea, and if you got tips for me. thanks.
__________________

p11ma is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 03:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 26
Default Re: Bottleneck with AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+

I recently upgraded from 2.3 to 3.0 and I'll tell you it's not much noticeable difference. At least it wasn't to me anyways. I run a geforce 8800 gts 320mb.

I'll warn you tho, when I upgraded my processor I ALSO had to upgrade my biostar mobo because it didn't support the new processor. I'd check before you run off and buy your processor. Make sure your motherboard will support it. Mine didn't. my old processor had a 3 pin connector and the new amd 6000 i bought used a 4 pin power connector.
__________________

DesoShade is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 04:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Bottleneck with AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+

Quote:
Originally Posted by p11ma View Post
Hello,

this is my current specs:

Motherboard: Biostar NF61S Micro AM2 SE
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual core processor 4400+ 2.31GHz
Video card: ATI Radeon HD4850 512mb
ram: 2GB

I think my processor bottleneck because of the new video card (HD4850), I checked with my friend that has same video card, but he has CPU - Intel E8400 and different motherboard, we both played GTA IV for PC, he was getting 40-60 fps, and I only 10-15 fps which didn't allow me to play the game property.

That's why I am thinking of new processor.

I've got two options, To upgrade my processor and motherboard to Intel C2D E8400 , and the motherboard too (pretty much expensive for me),
or:
upgrading my CPU to AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Socket AM2 (3.00GHz).

now look, I don't need the top of the top CPU, and I'm short in cash.
I know the AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Socket AM2 is weaker compared to the E8400, but I only need processor that won't bottleneck with my video card. as far as I know, The more GHz the lower bottleneck I will get, And I wanted to make sure that I won't get bottleneck with the AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Socket AM2. please let me know if you have any idea, and if you got tips for me. thanks.
How about a X2 5400+ Black Edition, which OC's to 3.2ghz
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 05:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Bottleneck with AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
How about a X2 5400+ Black Edition, which OC's to 3.2ghz
will it solve the bottleneck problem?
p11ma is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 05:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Bottleneck with AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+

It won't be as severe.. but it might still be there at higher res'
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 05:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Bottleneck with AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+

I find it funny that DesoShade didn't see any noticable difference when moving up from 2.3 to the 3.1ghz stock seen with the 6000+. I went from an Atholon 3500+ to the 6000+ when going to build this case and what a difference!

While not running a high end video card I place some good loads on the system here and never see it bogged down with any games that are run here like Crysis, Prey, Fear, and a few others along with video capture/editing. The next however will likely see one of the new Phenom II X4s there since I've been waiting to go for a 3ghz quad since the newer models will be seeing higher clock speeds there.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 05:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Bottleneck with AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+

a 6000 will not bottleneck a 4850.
try and overclock the 4400. you dont need much.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 08:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 26
Default Re: Bottleneck with AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+

Nope. I didn't really notice much of a difference. All my games run same as before. Videocard is an 8800gts, which isn't too shabby. I'm happy with the 8800 for now. Most games you run should be just fine with your 2.3ghz if you ask me. If you really want a little extra out of it, just overclock it a bit and save your money.
DesoShade is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 09:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Bottleneck with AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+

Are you using the stock or 3rd party hsf on the 4400+ presently? Before you decide to oc the 4400+ on a regular basis you will want a good cpu cooling setup as well as making sure the case has good air flow. You wouldn't want to end up cooking the 4400+ while trying to get a little more speed out of it.

The 89w not 125w version of the 6000+ is often the preferred choice since that will run cooler. I run the 125w version stock for the most part while having a good cooler and a pair of 120s for the front intake on the case itself. It still tends to run warm at times after a good load has been on it for a period of time.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which amd athlon 64 6000+ GreenMachine New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-19-2008 05:34 AM
AMD to make "significant corporate announcement" tomorrow, possibly breaking up Wildside Polls 8 10-11-2008 07:59 PM
Is this heatsink ok to use with a overclocked athlon 64 x 2 6000? Trent5281 Overclocking and Modding 4 09-22-2008 02:18 AM
Athlon X2 Is Dead; Long Live Athlon 6000 Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-02-2008 02:47 AM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.