Bloatware? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2008, 10:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Default Bloatware?

Hello. I am interested in purchasing a new Dell desktop. I read that Dell offers the option of forgoing 'bloatware' which I understand is overloaded & often unnecessary software that comes with most PC's these days. As a layperson, I don't know what I would be giving up or what software to ask to be excluded. Any advice? Thank you.
__________________

pikehunter is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 11:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Bloatware?

Welcome | The PC Decrapifier

Use that to get rid of the bloatware.

Also...why are you getting a Dell? Build your own...can be much cheaper for price to performance ratio, and it's easy (and quite fun).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 11:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Bloatware?

Thanks very much, but my layperson status (serious newbie) restrict me from knowing even what to choose using the DeCrapifier. I just don't know enough about what to uninstall and what is necessary. As far as my own build, please see above. I just don't know enough to assemble my own. Thanks again. I will see if the Dell rep knows what bloatware is. I hope so.

P.S. - Any thoughts on the raging XP vs. Vista debate? Dell is pushing it hard, but many seem set against it.
pikehunter is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 03:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Bloatware?

Go with a Dell Vostro. Look in the Small Business section of dell's site instead of the Home section.

The Vostro line is a basic computer without all the crap. They came with a trial of an anti-virus, but you can opt to not have it install, either. Plus, they are usually a little cheaper than the home line computers.

Vostros have the option for XP if you want it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 08:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Bloatware?

What type of Anti-Virus do you suggest if not the mainstream (Norton/McAfee)? Is there something wrong with these? I assume they require alot of resources to run? Thanks.
pikehunter is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 09:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Bloatware?

Nod32 (paid, but one of the best), Kaspersky (paid as well), AVG Free, or Avast! are all recommended here.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 10:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Bloatware?

Nod32 or TrendMicro.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When you need portable data storage jbcohen Microsoft Windows and Software 32 10-30-2007 10:02 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.