bios upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2007, 11:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Default bios upgrade?

i cannot find a bios upgrade for my motherboard. is it because its rare? or out of date? or because there is no such thing? i went to the FIC website (appearently the maker of the motherboard?) and had no luck navigating through the support center to try and find the correct bios download. is there a way to force a regular intel bios on it?

motherboard: FIC d865gwv aac53514-303
chipset: intel i865P/PE/G/i848P

or at least thats what cpu-z said. =p

thanks
__________________

grimtofu is offline  
Old 09-29-2007, 12:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: bios upgrade?

NO! do not try to use a bios update from a different mobo... that would be the dumbest thing to do

since you aren't very knowledgable about the topic, unless you call FIC support, don't try to update, a faulty bios update can brick your motherboard since your flashing a new firmware
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-29-2007, 01:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: bios upgrade?

Don't flash the BIOS is the computer works. Don't flash the BIOS if you have not experience. Also, if the board is non-brand name, there most likely won't be BIOS updates.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-29-2007, 02:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default Re: bios upgrade?

First thing's first: Upgrade BIOS only and only if, you have system stability problem, or your motherboard vendor just announced that your BIOS upgrade on 865 chipset will support 45nm CPU's. in either case, makes sense.
else, do not just upgrade BIOS on a stable running system, just to see a decimal fraction upgrade on your POST and that can bring smiles to your face.


check out FIC's website = best, they must have BIOS upgrade utility like most motherboards manufacturers do. if not, then they must have DOS based BIOS flash tutorial. later in slightly crucial, but works well if taken care.

lastly, using any other BIOS or even wring BIOS from same manufacturer would cause system to become unstable. and, in case of BIOS flash failure. look out for a Frame to stick your motherboard in and hang on the wall (remember to take the RAM and CPU off before hanging, as weight can cause your wall to fall down).
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-29-2007, 08:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: bios upgrade?

ah thank you. i have flashed a couple of bios' before, i just wasnt sure if there was an alternate one to use. still cant figure out how to navigate FIC's website. oh, and the issue is ram thats not quite right, as well as a video card that im not sure if its completely integrated into the system. id like to tweak the ram settings so it will run at a lower rate, and make sure that the bios understands my video card, two features my bios currently does not have. i have upgraded everything else, drivers, programs, etc, but am still experiencing lag during video and games. i have fixed pagefile usage, and am able to conclude that it is the bios, as this computer has only been running for 2 weeks. i have moderate amounts of ram and an ok chip. is there something i missed?
grimtofu is offline  
Old 09-29-2007, 09:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: bios upgrade?

I seriously doubt you built a computer using a FIC board as they are OEm vendors. have you checked your system's maker's site for an update?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-29-2007, 06:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: bios upgrade?

im not crazy. =p FIC from 2004 in a 'barebones' system, as i believe it is called. 512 memory, i upgraded that to 1 gig once i got it running, with an intel p4 2.8 ghz. running xp home on a 120 gb ata hd. has a combo dvd/cd drive, no floppy. its a mini tower. like those gaming kinds? size of a bread box? every proggy ive used says its an FIC board, as does the bios. trust me, id love to be wrong, but intel hasnt heard of my board, only my chipset. and i dont know where it was bought. it was a gift from my uncle. =p ive tried going to the FIC website, but i cant figure out where to find the info/dl i need. ive googled the board, but people are only selling them, not upgrading them. it may be an extinct system? but thanks, ill give it a try. =))
grimtofu is offline  
Old 09-29-2007, 08:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: bios upgrade?

FIC only has two motherboards listed as using the 865P chip, the P4-865P ULTRA and the P4M-865P ULTRA. The only difference I see in them is that the P4 can run 800FSB, while the P4M can only go to 533FSB.

Don't see that model number anywhere.

Have you tried using Belarc Adviser to get the mobo model number?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-30-2007, 11:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: bios upgrade?

System Model
First International Computer, Inc.
Board: Intel Corporation D865GWV AAC53514-303
Serial Number: ABWV35113449
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
BIOS: Intel Corp. WV86510A.45T.0027.B05.0403151959 03/15/2004

-smacks head- intel. but intel hasnt heard of it either? so wheres the bios update? =((
__________________

grimtofu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Performance issue with BIOS upgrade gatgame Microsoft Windows and Software 10 01-24-2008 10:40 AM
Help Please! PC won't boot up after BIOS upgrade! Katmandu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 09-29-2007 06:49 PM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.