bios setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2011, 05:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2
Default bios setup

Just finished my new i7 950 build. I don't understand some of the bios settings that I should use. I have two 1TB sata 3.0 hard drives. What should I set the sata configuration to? It gives three choices in the bios IDE, Raid (which I am not using), and AHCI (advanced host controller interface).
Also the ram seems to be set wrong. I think it was showing 1066 ram.
I have Mushkin enhanced 998805. DDR 3, 2x3 GB, 1600 with 6-8-6-24 and the voltage on the specs shows 1.65volts. Do I need to manually set these numbers in the bios settings? There are a lot of settings under the ram. What do these number correspond to? The motherboard is an Asus p6x58d-e.

teamo is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 06:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
MindoverMaster's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: bios setup

If you loaded an OS on there yet, you can't change from IDE to AHCI. You'd need a registry edit. Not recommended for the novice. But AHCI is your best option for SATA configuration.

As for the memory, yes, you need to manually set that. Wait around for Slaymate. He can help you there.

__________________ Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 06:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Slaymate's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: bios setup

If you are not going to overclock the easiest way to setup your memory is to enable the XMP profile.

If you do plan on overclocking then you should read through this.

i7 Overclocking Guide
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 06:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2
Default Re: bios setup

Thanks for the help. I haven't put the os on yet until I get the bios just right. I am going to overclock later when I have it up and running smooth.
teamo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bios setup, How's it done? Help please. Bearcamp System Upgrades 3 07-27-2006 08:30 PM
Powerbook G4 Bios setup RicoDirenzo Apple and Mac 10 05-24-2006 03:45 PM
Automatically to BIOS setup!! micheal Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-31-2005 11:01 AM
BIOS Setup thayde1 Overclocking and Modding 6 12-04-2005 09:07 PM
BIOS Setup / Upgrade siri Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-25-2005 10:04 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.