Bios problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2009, 08:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 7
Default Bios problem

Hey guys im new here

I've got a ASUS Blitz formula motherboard with a Supreme FX2 sound card which I cant seem to get working. When I look in the BIOS theres no option for HD AUDIO does anyone know why?
__________________

rwhcurtis is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 09:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Bios problem

Did you install the latest drivers for it?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 06:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Bios problem

it wont let me an error pops up which says' HDA Audio bus driver is required...'
rwhcurtis is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 06:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Bios problem

go to c:\windows\system32 and find a file called "hdaudbus.sys"

Right Click, 'My computer'
Left Click, Tab labeled 'Hardware'
Left Click, Button labeled 'Driver Manager'
Right Click, PCI Device with yellow exclamation mark
Left Click, Either 'Update Driver' or 'Install Driver'

once that file is installed go back to your disc that came with the mobo and install the asus driver. then you should be able to enable HD and install your card.

the m2n-e had this same problem.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 10:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Bios problem

im using xp, do you mean device manager? when i go there everything seems to be working fine no exclamation marks.

i did find the hdaudbus.sys though
rwhcurtis is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 12:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Bios problem

okay what shows under "sound, video and game controllers" in control panel?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
CMOS/ BIOS trouble shooting. Random Seeker Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 08-15-2008 12:03 PM
Bios for my motherboard Quake_City Microsoft Windows and Software 13 03-29-2008 09:47 AM
Problem after BIOS flash MetalOwns Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 03-21-2008 07:42 PM
Best way to update BIOS? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 03:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.