BIOS Password - Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2006, 09:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default BIOS Password - Help!

When I built my computer over a year ago I don't remember setting a password when I set up the BIOS. Now when I attempt to enter the BIOS it asks for a password. I've tried all my passwords but nothing works. I get the same message - invalid password, press any key to continue. Is there a way around the password??
__________________

DALAN is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 10:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

There is sometimes basic BIOS passwords that the manufacturer (pheonix or Award) left on there as backdoor passwords which may work. If they do not work you will have to take out the CMOS battery, unplug from the wall and leave standing for about 5-10 minutes which will clear out all BIOS and CMOS settings (including your time/date)
__________________

__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 10:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default

How could I find the "backdoor password"? I do remember about the CMOS battery. I don't know if I could get thru all the BIOS settings again.
DALAN is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 10:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

You can look online, type in BIOS password, there are various sites that have them all listed, it is around 30-40 different words dependant on the maker of your BIOS.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks JoshSB!! I'll get to work on it.
DALAN is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Glad to help, my BIOS was a pheonix-award it says so I tried all the pheonix passwords (to see if you could get around my own password to log into my system (living in a dorm and I dont want some dumb schmuk trying to break past either my BIOS or my windows password)) and none of the pheonix works, however there are like 30-40 award ones that may work so hope is not lost if i forget (which I log in like 3 times everyday, i doubt I will forget it).
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 12:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

I tried that with an old server I had, but no luck. So I found this bootable floppy program that scans the bios or something and gives you a list of passwords that will work. Can't remember what it was called though...
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 04:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I tried all the AWARD passwords that I found on one of the sites - 'cause I've got a Phoenix-Award BIOS also - but none of them worked (about 45 of them). I've got an ABIT NF7-S2 mobo - maybe I'll try contacting them - as I'll try anything before I remove the CMOS battery. Thanks again.
DALAN is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

you kno theres a troubleshooting thread...try posting there
teknikull is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 05:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Couldnt you just clear the CMOS by the jumpers on the motherboard?
__________________

__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.