Bios Flash gone wrong - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2005, 12:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default Bios Flash gone wrong

well i used MSI LIveupdate bios program to flash my bios, sense you can flash inside windows. and it does it all for you. and what im using is in my sig. ok so i went through the program. did all what it said. and then i restarted. checked everything. then i restarted again. and press DELete to go into the bios, and then the screen goes black and then there is the little "_" blindking thingy at the top left of the screen...i press every single button on the keyboard, and nothing is working. NOW I CANT OC!!! it sucks. i need help does anyone know whats wrong?
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 01:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to PhillipBelcher Send a message via Yahoo to PhillipBelcher
Default

*GULP*
Um...........

Try to get the original bios back on there!
__________________

PhillipBelcher is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 01:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

thats odd? i unplugged my USB mouse and my new USB keyboard, and plugged in my old Ps/2 keyboard and it worked...odd? i just enabled USB mouse. but how do i get my USB keyboard to work...

lets try this one more time.

btw its my saitek eclipse keyboard and a MX518
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to PhillipBelcher Send a message via Yahoo to PhillipBelcher
Default

latest driver revision?
PhillipBelcher is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 01:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

wtf? now i tried to plug my keyboard and mouse back in. works good. and i get past the windows loading screen and the screen just goes black. but the monitor light is still GREEN

now i restarted and i cant get into my bios. AHHH, i unplugged my new mouse. and my keyboard lest try again

now my comp wont turn on, isnt this nice?

the cd light on my cd drive is blinking but there is no cd in there???
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 01:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

ever since i flashed there are some new things under my DRAM configuaration for my ram. S/W memory hole remapping and H/W memory hole remapping, i can either choose disable or enable. right now its at disable

there is also bottom of 32bit[31:24]IO under my DRAM configuartion. and when i press enter to change it. it says key n hex number lol so confusing
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 01:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to PhillipBelcher Send a message via Yahoo to PhillipBelcher
Default

kick it, works for me sometime. JK

Try to boot in safe mode, and get online to get the drivers
PhillipBelcher is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 02:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

now my system beeps at startup but nothing is showing on the screen LOL.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 02:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PhillipBelcher
kick it, works for me sometime. JK

Try to boot in safe mode, and get online to get the drivers
YOu can't get online in "Safe Mode", unless you boot to "Safe Mode with Networking"
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 04:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Why don't you just boot off a floppy and flash the bios? I would try the new version first and if the problem persists, use the original.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.