BIOS firmware - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2006, 02:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default BIOS firmware

Can anyone help me with upgrading my BIOS firmware?

The motherboard I have is a ASUS P4SD-LA. Details here.

How do update the BIOS? In the BIOS it says v3.19 12/12/03, but at the bottom of the screen it says v.2.51 American Megatrends.

How do I find the right firmware?

Thanks
__________________

Spooky_b329 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 05:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

asus website would probably be the best place to look

http://support.asus.com/technicaldoc...Language=en-us

or try this: http://support.asus.com/technicaldoc...Language=en-us
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 07:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

I looked on Asus' site and that motherboard wasn't found for socket 478, which according to HP is the socket that motherboard uses. Check your information over again.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 03:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Its an HP specific board which is probably why you can't find it.
Spooky_b329 is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 03:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

If it's pre built machine why do you want to update the bios?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 03:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

The HP BIOS has very limited options, I want to lower the temp threshold that speeds up the case fan as the computer freezes for a second or two each time it turns on and off. When the comp is working hard the fan is triggered every few minutes.
Spooky_b329 is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 03:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I don't know if updating the bios will do much.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 03:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

ah ok...

Thanks for your help!

I can put up with it most of the time, its incredibly annoying though when playing games online though...plus the sound tends to get distorted in TOCA2, but as soon as the fan speeds up it goes normal.
__________________

Spooky_b329 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.