Big problem with my new CD-ROM Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2005, 04:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to bartthecartoon
Default Big problem with my new CD-ROM Drive Modem Stopped Working!

I just took a CD-ROM drive out of one of my old computers and put it into my main rig. The computer recognized it and it worked fine, but when I tried to sign online (using my dial-up modem) my computer shut down and started up again. That happens every time I try to use the modem. I took the CD-ROM drive off of the data cable it was attached to, but the computer still crashed when i tried to use the modem. Can anyone help me?
__________________

__________________
-Intel Celeron D Processor 2.93 GHz
-1.25 GB Ram
-80 GB Hard Drive
-5 GB Hard Drive
-CD-ROM Drive
-CD-RW Drive
-External 3.5\" Floppy Drive
-Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
-Intel Extreme Graphics 2
-Logitech Wingman Force 3D
-Logitech Wingman Rumblepad
bartthecartoon is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 02:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Return the emachine.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 03:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

agreed. I've read about 20 threads with issues with your emachine.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 05:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Driver issue maybe? on cd three that came with your E-machine was maybe a driver cd that had all drivers for your pc try that. My dad has an emachine so that is how I know. Thank you for your time hopefull we can get this to work!
~Grim
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 08:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to bartthecartoon
Default

I reinstalled the driver (twice) and now it is working fine. I'm listening to music on a CD and I'm online.
__________________
-Intel Celeron D Processor 2.93 GHz
-1.25 GB Ram
-80 GB Hard Drive
-5 GB Hard Drive
-CD-ROM Drive
-CD-RW Drive
-External 3.5\" Floppy Drive
-Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
-Intel Extreme Graphics 2
-Logitech Wingman Force 3D
-Logitech Wingman Rumblepad
bartthecartoon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.