Bfg 7600gs Agp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2006, 05:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to TMR Net Shark
Default Bfg 7600gs Agp

I recently bought the BFG 7600 GS 512 MB AGP. I havn't gotten time to test the card out(just bought it yesterday). Now I'm wondering how some of these games will run on the video card like:

Age of Empires III

I know the card is middle level in terms for graphics. Also, here are my specs...

ECS K8 755-A2 mother board 8X AGP 2.0
AMD Sempron 64 2600+ socket 754
1 Gig of RAM (Corsair and Kingston 512 each)
BFG 7600 GS 512 MB AGP

Also, do you believe I will be able to play all the games that will be coming out this fall (medium graphics)?

TMR Net Shark is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 06:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
reggie_da_man's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567

Try it out! I think you'd probably be able to get away with the new games comming out.


reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 06:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954

Sheesh! That's like having a new car delivered, and then letting it just sit in the driveway!

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 07:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to TMR Net Shark

Well, that's what I'll be doing tonight when I install Age of Empires III. I know I'll be able to run that game on max settings because I was running the game on a Gefore 5200 like 2 weeks ago (running all on low settings of course).

I was just asking you guys because you people know if the card is either good or realllly good.
TMR Net Shark is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 12:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk

You will probably be suffering from your processor now... a 2600+ won't play many newer games very welll
Deathawk is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 12:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to TMR Net Shark

Oh, I know. The next thing I'll be upgrading will be to a good old new AMD 64 processor... like a 3300+ core or so along with a 400W PSU.

TMR Net Shark is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.