BF2 issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2005, 07:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default BF2 issue

This one is weird, hence why I am posting it in the hardware section. I have a friend that recently bought an ATI X850XT PE so he could play bf2. He had 9200 for the longest time, but now ONLY when he tries to play bf2 will in SHUT DOWN his pc. Yep... shut it down. any other games plays fine (sub hunter 3, farcry, doom3, etc...) but only when he plugs in bf2 will it die. he's got all the latest drivers, has done the uninstall/reinstall, updated all the bios, etc, that we both can think of, but still nothing... he's got a gig (dunno type) ram, good 450W psu (18Amp on the +12V side), but the one thing I have yet to find out is that if his mobo is completely compatible. It's an INTEL 865perl.

I have checked all my knowledge (which obviously isn't much) and his, done all kinds of research, but still get the shutdown... Any thoughts, comments, suggestions? about the only thing he hasn't done is reinstall windows. Many thanks and much appreciatiojn for any help...

Nukem
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 10:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 125
Default

What kind of power supply does he have? It could be that his PSU doesn't have enough juice to run that card. Or your computer could also be over heating.
__________________

__________________
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Lian-Li G70B
Core 2 Duo E6400@3.3ghz
2GB Mushkin Redline XP-8000
150GB Raptor
Hitachi 160GB Desktar
NEC 3520A
eVGA 7900GT Signature Series
Dell 2007FP WUXGA
Wall7486 is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 11:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

I can 100% guarantee you that his PSU isn't putting out enough amps.

Going from a 9200 to a x850XT PE is like going from crawling to running.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 06:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Get a PSU with atleast 22a on the +12v rail and chances are he'll be fine.
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.