BestBuy lied to me when they sold me my computer! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2005, 12:26 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to bartthecartoon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
It is very relevant, When they find out you voided warrnty, they prolly won't care.

and I spell anything however I want.
E-mashine. o-k
Yes, I can tell that you are very smart indeed. My warrenty isn't void, because I didn't damage my RAM. The warrenty is only void if you damage the part in question, when you open the computer.
__________________

__________________
-Intel Celeron D Processor 2.93 GHz
-1.25 GB Ram
-80 GB Hard Drive
-5 GB Hard Drive
-CD-ROM Drive
-CD-RW Drive
-External 3.5\" Floppy Drive
-Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
-Intel Extreme Graphics 2
-Logitech Wingman Force 3D
-Logitech Wingman Rumblepad
bartthecartoon is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 12:36 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

They might come back at you saying well

"how do we know that you just didnt open up your computer and take the memory out"


BUt............................ They cant say that unless you told them that you opened it up. I noticed that some computers have no security seals on them.......But if you had seals and they are broken, just be prepared to get nasty with them when they try to deny your ram they f'd you out of
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 12:54 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 135
Default

why did u wait to open the case to see how much ram u got...why didnt u just right click my computer-> properties....could fo done that the sec u got it...
__________________
Pentium 4 630 (3.0ghz)
1 gb PNY DDR2700
ATI 9600XT 128 mb
Hitachi 160 gb
ABIT AS8 Socket T (LGA 775)
bronxblaza117 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 12:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Smart people don't buy E-Machines.
If you built it you wouldn't Have this Problem

Pwned.

Nough Said.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 01:44 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
you bought an E-Machine. You poor bastard.
i bought an emachines and pumped it up to be a sick gaming rig, although my model is better than his. so emachines is alright.
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 01:49 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 327
Default

why would u void the warranty just for opening the case. to me thats just lame ***. BTW get over it its like 25 bux or somthing/
__________________
gimli of gloin is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 03:16 AM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
Smart people don't buy E-Machines.
If you built it you wouldn't Have this Problem

Pwned.

Nough Said.
Let's take a look at the topic here. The topic of this thread is about best buy and the ram issues. Granted, I do agree with you as far as building your own computer and he wouldn't of had this problem, however this kind of response isn't needed.

In short: Don't post stupid ****.

"Nough Said."
Jayce is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 03:18 AM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gimli of gloin
why would u void the warranty just for opening the case. to me thats just lame ***. BTW get over it its like 25 bux or somthing/
I agree... in the time it takes to contact those guys, get it straightened out, and POSSIBLY get reimbursed for the missing ram, you could of easily scrambled some pennies and nickles into a pile and get your own ram.

I'd just email them telling them your story. If they offer to help, GREAT. If not, just tell them that they lost your business and you will do everything in your power to ensure that people do not buy those computers, whether you have to stand in BestBuy with a huge poster or paying 10 grand to have it written in the sky by a professional pilot.
Jayce is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 11:18 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gimli of gloin
why would u void the warranty just for opening the case. to me thats just lame ***. BTW get over it its like 25 bux or somthing/
I had an HP that had a little holographic sticker seal thing, and by taking off the side panel of the case and breaking that seal, the warranty was voided.

Why would something like that void the warranty? Its simple. If that seal is broken you can not prove that what ever problem you're having is a manufacturer defect and not something you did on your own.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 11:20 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to bartthecartoon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Riceball
i bought an emachines and pumped it up to be a sick gaming rig, although my model is better than his. so emachines is alright.
That is why I bought this e-Machine, though. I wasn't planning to just use it like it was when I bought it. I noticed that it was really cheap, but it had a fast processor, and the motherboard seemed to be ok. It can be used with SATA drives, and it can have 2 gigs of RAM added.
__________________

__________________
-Intel Celeron D Processor 2.93 GHz
-1.25 GB Ram
-80 GB Hard Drive
-5 GB Hard Drive
-CD-ROM Drive
-CD-RW Drive
-External 3.5\" Floppy Drive
-Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
-Intel Extreme Graphics 2
-Logitech Wingman Force 3D
-Logitech Wingman Rumblepad
bartthecartoon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.