Best graphic card?!?!? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2005, 11:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 14
Default Best graphic card?!?!?

I read many reviews and as of now the Geforce 7800GTX 512mb is the king of the hill. Now: What manufacturer that makes this card is the best?





Which one???
They all cost bacically the same, and come with games etc. I was thinking XFX, but then again I heard bad things about XFX...

zuul155 is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 11:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 184


royalk4 is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 11:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319


Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 05:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

price drop? i though they were 750 dollars?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 07:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

woah! They were!


<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource:
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 07:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden

In order imo?

1) eVGA
2) BFG
3) MSI
4) xfx (ewww)

And yes, if you hear bad things about something, it's generally a good idea to pass on it
Camden is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 06:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 14

What power supply should go with it? I was thinking Antec truepower 550W? I'm "only" going to get one card, that means im already broke... Do you guys think I should get another one even more powerful? No right, because i already bought it. And in one test of a 512mb 7800gtx they had a cheap 450W PSU and it ran perfectly they said.
zuul155 is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 09:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 14

The card requires two slots it says. But it doesn't need two slots (not SLI). I dont have two PCI-E slots!! I have another slot next to it that's free and not used. Is that going to work? The card should clear that slot when it sits in the one PCI-E slot. I think it's an older slot, like PCI or something. They just mean that the slot next to it (whatever it is, PCI, AGP, PCI-E) should be free to use for space right? I'm buying this card because i do not have two PCI-E slots but now I'm starting to worry....
zuul155 is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 11:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo

yes you only need 1 pci-e slot it just need an adjacent slot for the cooler is all.

Charbo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.